Posted on

8 Mistakes Minnesota Residential Builders Make When Renewing Their License

Minnesota Residential Builders Licensing Mistakes. 8 Most Common Mistakes Made By MN Residential Builders When Renewing Their License

Make sure your renewal is not slowed down by submitting a renewal that is incomplete or not completed properly.  Making just one of these eight common licensing renewal mistakes can slow down the entire renewal process for any licensee.  Licenses not issued prior to expiration can lead to problems obtaining permits.  Avoid these common mistakes, whether renewing your Minnesota Residential Building or Remodeling license online or by mail:

 

1. Missing the deadline.  Even though the deadline for license renewal is March 31st, it is best to have your application, all paperwork and the licensing fee sent to the DLI by March 1st

 

2. Taking unapproved continuing education.  All continuing education courses must be approved by the Minnesota DLI, whether they are online or in a classroom. Providers of continued education are required to submit results for Residential Building Contractors and Remodelers.  Be sure to check to see if your results will be submitted by the provider.  If not, don’t take that course. Here is a link to Minnesota Approved Continuing Education Courses.

 

3. Not including one hour of energy code.  Residential Builders are required to take 14 hours of continued education every two years, including one hour of energy code.  Your renewal will not be approved without at least one hour.

 

4. Paying the wrong fee.  Your renewal will be rejected if you don’t include the proper fee.  The fee for most contractors is $690, but increases as gross annual receipts increase. Here’s a chart that makes it easy for you:

 

Fee:

Residential Building Contractor/Remodeler Two-Year License Fee Structure

If gross receipts are:

Recovery fund fee

License fee

New license fee total

Renewal license fee total

less than $1 million

$470

$220

$670

$690

$1million to $5 million

$570

$220

$770

$790

more than $5 million

$670

$220

$870

$890

Certificate of Exemption Fee is $15

 

 

 5.  Leaving out paperwork. Your submission should include all of the following forms, filled out and signed.

  •     License renewal form
  •     Designated Qualifying Person (QP) Form, signed by the QP
  •     Certificate of Compliance of Minnesota Workers Comp Law
  •     Liability insurance certificate. Submit this with your renewal.  Do not have your agent submit it.
  •     Copy of business filing from the Secretary of State web site.  Make sure it’s current.

 

6. Getting the right “Insured” name on the liability insurance certificate. The name should be listed exactly the way the business name appears on the license, including “LLC” or “Inc.” if it is in the business name.

 

7. Not including DLI on the insurance certificate.  The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry must be listed as a “certificate holder”. 

 

8. Not including the registration number.  The Qualifying Person is assigned a “registration number” that begins with a prefix of QB or QR, also referred to as the “Q” number.  This number is used to track your completed education, so be sure to include this number on everything.

 

If you do not renew your license by March 31st, your license will be expired and a late fee of $90 is assessed in order to reinstate it.  If your license remains expired for more than two years, it cannot be renewed and you will have to reapply.

 

 

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.licensetobuild.com or give the friendly staff a call at:

1-800-727-7104

 

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.