Architects in California are required to complete five hours of coursework on disability access requirements every two years by their license renewal date in order to renew their Architects License. The disability access requirements must include information and practical guidance concerning the requirements set forth by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (Public Law 101-336; 42 U.S.C. Sec. 12101 et seq.), state laws that govern access to public facilities, and federal and state regulations adopted pursuant to those laws. The course must be presented by trainers or educators with knowledge and experience in the disability access requirements.
Is it really that easy?
The answer is yes. Online courses that meet these requirements are fully accepted and the course doesn’t even have to include a test. As long as the course content covers the specific disability access requirements and is presented by an instructor with knowledge and expertise in that field, you are good to go. Here is a link to the fastest and most economical resource for completing a 5-Hour course that fulfills all requirements for California Architects.
Here is a helpful hint for those of you who are also members of the American Institute of Architects. For membership renewal, you must complete 18 hours of AIA Approved education. Be sure to save time and money by choosing a resource that includes the 5-hour disability access course required of California Architects.
Licensees who fail to complete the required architect continuing education coursework cannot renew their license to practice architecture until they have fulfilled these requirements. The Board conducts audits of complete coursework. If you are selected for an audit, you will be required to submit documentation confirming that you have fulfilled the requirement. If you signed the renewal application claiming to having completed the education, but are unable to submit confirming documentation, or if you submit false or misleading information, or fail to respond to the Board’s request, you will be subject to a citation that could include a fine or other disciplinary action. It’s not worth the risk – take the course and get your certificate of completion.
For the fastest and most economical way to complete your education, visit:
Online Approved Continued Education for Florida Contractors
Builders License Training Institute has created six Florida state approved 14-hour renewal packages. Each course package includes Required Competency and Advanced Module so contractors will have an easy renewal.
- NEW! Drones in Construction and Successful Site Design
- Handicap Accessibility: Real World Applications
- Weatherization and Renewable Energy
- Construction Safety Standards
- Contracts, Liability, and Risk Management
- Efficient Project Management
Florida Contractors must renew their license by August 31st, 2016. Part of the renewal process is completing 14-hours of approved continued education. Along with submitting your renewal application to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), you must also include the renewal fee ($209.00 Active Individual, $259.00 Active Qualifying Business and $100.00 extra per delinquent).
Do I Have to Submit My Contractor Continuing Education Certificate to The State?
You don’t, but your provider does. Approved continuing education providers must submit all completed hours to the state so that they can be applied to your specific license. This is one of the many reasons choosing a high-quality training provider (such as Builders License Training Institute) is so important.
Featured New Course!
Drones are the new tool companies are raving about for their marketing and personal use. There are many potential uses for drones in the construction industry, survey mapping, marketing and advertising, and security are just a handful of uses. Check out package #6 for an introductory course on Drones and how they are beneficial to the construction field.
It is important to always stay on top of your architect license renewal requirements so there are never any problems or delays causing your license to lapse. Failure to renew your license will automatically cause your license to expire and be voided.
In 20216 there are 11 States that require license renewals. Listed below are the names of the states, the renewal deadline, and the required continuing education.
Alabama architects need 12 hours of Health Safety, and Welfare (HSW) approved continued education (CE) every year January 1st through December 31st.
Arkansas licensed architects must complete 12 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics every year by July 31st.
Illinois licensed architects must complete 24 hours of CE every 2 year licensing period by November 30th of even years.
Louisiana licensed architects must complete 12 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics by December 31st each year.
Massachusetts licensed architects must complete 12 hours of continued education annually. 8 of those hours must be approved Health, Safety, and Welfare topics.
Missouri architects must complete 24 hours of CE by October through December every other year depending on when licensed. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics.
Nebraska licensed architects must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses biennially. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics. Those with last names beginning with letters L through Z expire on December 31, 2016.
Nevada architects must complete 8 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.
Oregon architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics. Registrations that end in an even number must be renewed by December 31st of each even numbered year.
Wisconsin architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses by July 31st of even years. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics.
Wyoming architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics. Licenses expire on December 31st of the year following the year of issued.
AIA members are required to complete 18 hours of AIA approved continued education annually, with a minimum of 12 of those hours in Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW). This requirement was changed in late 2013 after the AIA found that Sustainable Design (SD) education fell in the HSW category.
The Federal definition of lead-based paint is: Any paint or surface coatings that contain lead equal to or in excess of 1.0 milligram per square centimeter or more that 0.5 percent by weight.
The Health Risks of Lead Paint
Lead paint is hazardous to everyone; it is extremely hazardous to children and women who are pregnant. Children are a greater risk than adults because their bodies are still developing. Even a little bit of lead paint dust can cause severe health issues. Children can swallow or inhale dust from their hands, toys, food, or other objects.
In children, lead can cause:
- Damage to the brain and central nervous system
- Reading and learning difficulties
- Behavioral problems
- Kidney damage
- And many more health hazards
In pregnant women, lead is passed from the mother to the fetus and can cause:
- Premature Births
- Brain Damage
- Low birth weight
Who needs their Lead Paint Renovator Certification?
Contractors who are working on pre-1978 homes or child-occupied facilities must be certified as a Lead Paint Renovator. The Builders License Training Institute offers a Lead Paint Safety Initial certification class. To sign up for an 8-hour Initial Certification class click here.
For contractors that already are certified as a Lead Paint Renovator we now offer the 4-hour (RRP) refresher course online! Now contractors are able to take their refresher course online at their own convenience without the hassle of driving for a half day class.
The renewal cycle for architects in the state of Utah takes place May 31st of every even numbered year. Architects are required to complete 24 hours of continued education covering approved public protection (Health, Safety, and Welfare) topics.
How do I renew my Utah architects license?
The state of Utah sends out renewal reminders each renewal cycle 60 days prior to your license expiration. Architects can renew their license online through their DOPL account. For late renewals, architects will need so submit a hardcopy of the renewal application to the DOPL. Any late renewal applications must include proof of the completion of the required continuing education.
How Many Hours of CE are required to Renew My Utah Architects License?
Utah Architects are required to complete 24-hours of approved Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW) continuing education courses. All continuing education must be completed by December 31st odd numbered years. Architects Training Institute offers a variety of course packages and individual course that are AIA approved and fulfill Utah Architects license renewal requirements.
Along with individual AIA approved courses, Architects Training Institute has created 4 different course packages specifically for Architects in Utah. These packages range from 8-hours to 24-hours and are approved for license renewal.
As a contractor, showcasing your work is one of the better ways to set yourself a part from the competition. By using drones, you can capture a vision of your work, that before would have been impossible to see. Greg MacMaster from Eagle Eye Drone Service in Traverse City, MI, is our featured instructor in the new course that focuses on Drones in Construction. This course covers everything from the different types of UAV/Drones to the benefits of using drones on your jobsite.
Drones Can Be Used For Many Things in Construction
- Site Selection
- Project progress
- Aerial photo documentation on the job completion
- And much more!
Real Life Example of Using Drones in Construction:
Let’s say a customer owns a three story hotel, and wants the roof inspected. You find out, there is no roof access, and it has a 12/12 pitch. You have two options, hire another company to come in with their equipment, which could take days to complete a full roof inspection costing extra money and time. Or take twenty minutes out of your day to fly a drone up near the roof and complete a full inspection. Having the ability to inspect the roof by drone will not only save time and money, but it will also keep you and your crew safe from the dangers that come with steep pitch roof systems.
How Can I Use Drones in Construction?
This course will answer the questions “Which drone is right for me?” and “What is it that I want my drone to do?” Greg MacMaster does an excellent job of covering important topics in this introductory course. As someone who has taken the Drones in Construction course, I can honestly tell you that this course educated me on the benefits of using drones on the jobsite and more. So, don’t miss out on this opportunity to get a leg up on the usage of drones in construction and sign up today.
Be sure to check out our social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for more articles.
Arkansas architects need a total of 12 hours of Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW) continuing education each calendar year by July 31st. AIA members must complete 18 hours of approved CE with 12 of those based on HSW approved topics. The state of Arkansas requires that Architects keep a record of their completed continuing education credit for six years, and that no extra CEU’s may be carried over to the next cycle.
Complete Arkansas AIA Approved Continued Education Course List
Architects Training Institute has created many different course packages for architect to choose from ranging from 8-hour course package to 24-hour course package. Listed below are the courses included in our AIA approved 12-hour course package.
12-hour online course package:
2010 ADA Standards: Accessible Route
This one hour video course covers the fourth chapter of the 2010 ADA Standards Accessible Design and Routes. The material for this course includes onsite, real world video examples in various accessible buildings used both by the public and private sector.
Ethics and Professional Development
This two hour video course will provide ethical theory and application that will help you establish and maintain hard earned business relationships.
Technological Innovation Building “Green” into the Budget
In this three hour video course Architects will be able to look into the methods of green building that allows homes to have less impact on the environment. Green building will also have a greater economic benefit to the homeowner.
Weatherization and Renewable Energy
- In the 3 hour Weatherization video, students will gain the confidence in their ability to reduce building envelope failure using prevention methods of construction.
- In the 3 hour video Renewable energy lesson students will see how renewable energy is contributing more and more to the world’s ever-rising energy demands.
AIA members are required to complete 18 hours of AIA approved continuing education annually, with a minimum of 12 hours on approved Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW) topics. This requirement was changed in late 2013 after the AIA found that Sustainable Design (SD) education fell in the HSW category.