How to Get Your Michigan Real Estate Salesperson License

On: November 17, 2015

There are 3 main steps in getting your Michigan Real Estate Salesperson License.

1) Successful completion of a State approved 40-HR MI Real Estate Fundamentals Course

2) Submission of an online application

3) Completing the PSI Exam.

Step 1.

Complete a 40-HR Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course. This course must be approved by the state of Michigan for the Salesperson Prelicensure requirement. Real Estate Training Institute offers this course along with a Salesperson/Broker exam prep Course. This is an online course made up of 9 modules. Within each module there are several lessons each with their own video presentation, course material, and quiz. The 40-HR course is taught by Gwyn Besner, a respected and well known educator in Real Estate.

Step 2.

Once you successfully complete your MI 40-HR Real Estate Fundamentals Course you will need to submit an application.

How to Apply:

  • Go to www.michigan.gov/icola Commercial Occupation Licensing Application (iCOLA)

  • Select “I need to create an account to use online services” and submit

  • Pay a licensing fee

  • Submit your application electronically

    • Note: if you are listing your employing brokers 10-digit ID number when applying, please inform your employer that you have submitted your license application.

Step 3.

At this time you have successfully completed the 40-HR Prelicensure Course and the online application. This final step is where you will be registering with Psychological Services Incorporated or PSI for the Michigan Real Estate Salesperson Exam. The exam is:

  • $76.00 to register

  • Timed (180 minutes) to complete

  • Located in the following: Gaylord, Grand Rapids, Holt, Marquette, and Southfield.

 

Once the exam is completed you will be notified immediately if you have passed or not. PSI will them import your exam data into your iCOLA record within 48 hours once you have passed.

How often do I have to renew my MI Real Estate Salesperson License?

Congratulations! You now have your Salesperson License and can now focus on your continued education or CE. The renewal cycle for the Salesperson license takes place every three years on October 31. Realtors are required to complete 18-Hrs of CE with 6 hours of those being legal updates. Click here for a complete list of Real Estate Training Institute’s Continued Education. 

 

 

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visitwww.realestatetraininginstitute.com or give the friendly staff a call at:

1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


How to Become A Certified Lead Paint Renovator in Michigan

On: November 16, 2015
Ecologist an opposes of environmental pollution

Did you know…

If you are working on a pre-1978 home or child occupied facility and have NOT been certified as a Lead Paint Renovator, you could be fined up to $37,500.00. While the EPA doesn’t always hit you for this full amount, this is being enforced and they are fining contractors. To avoid exposing children to the harmful effects of lead poisoning and lead dust, plus to avoid a hefty fine, you must become a Certified LEAD Renovator.

To become a LEAD Certified Renovator you must:

  • Attend an 8-hour EPA approved Lead Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) Training Course.

     

  • Participate in all Hands-on sections during the course.

     

  • Pass the 30 question test at the end of the course.  

     

  • Submit a $300.00 fee to the EPA along with Certificate of completion
    • If you own your own business you will send in your Firm Certification Fee in order to certify your Firm as the qualifying Individual. 

 

How to Renew my Lead Paint Renovator Certification

Your certification is good for 5 years. Before the 5 year cycle is up, you will be required to complete a 4-Hour Lead Paint RRP Refresher course. Once the course is completed contractors will take a 20 question exam.  A copy of your original Certification must be provided to the instructor in order to receive your renewal certification. Your Firm Certification including the FEE can then be submitted to the EPA.

The 8-HR Initial and 4-HR Refresher courses both meet the 3 required approval levels:

  1. Fulfills the 4-Hour Federal Requirement for the Certified Renovator Refresher course.

  2. Fulfills 4 hours of Continued Competency for the Michigan Residential Builders and Maintenance and Alteration Contractors Licensees.
    • This applies for those who need 21-HR of CE. This does not fulfill the 3-HR Code, Law, Safety requirements. 

  3. Fulfills 4 hours of Continued Education for the Michigan Real Estate Licensees.

 

The Home Builders Association of Grand Traverse Area (HBAGTA) will be offering a certification course on December 18, 2015 in Traverse City, MI. This course will be taught by BLTI instructors. To sign up for this course click here

 

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education visit www.licensetobuild.com or give the friendly staff a call at: 1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


Another Great Addition to the ECSTI Stallcup Library!

On: November 12, 2015

Electrical Codes and Standards Training Institute (ECSTI) is proud to showcase another fine reference book written by James Stallcup Sr. “Part 1 of OSHA High-Voltage Electrical Regulations Simplified”. ECSTI recently added this book to its virtual library along with many other recent publications by the Stallcup’s. 

About the Book

The rules and regulations in “Part I of OSHA High-Voltage Electrical Regulations Simplified“, address work practices to be used during the operation and maintenance of electric power generation, transmission, and distribution installations. A comprehensive approach is discussed pertaining to control of the hazards involved for the safety of personnel working near or on such hazards.

How Does This Help You?

The rules and regulations outlined (when applied) will significantly reduce the number of fatalities and injuries involving electrical contact, flash burns, and thermal burns as well as other accidents which otherwise would be uncontrolled.

Employer and employees must learn the requirements of Part I which contains Subpart R of OSHA 1910.269. They must implement such rules to provide safety when performing maintenance on high-voltage electrical installations.

Part I represent OSHA 1910, Subpart R, is divided into 18 chapters and they are as follows:

 (1) Electrical Power Generation, Transmission, and Distribution

(2) Medical Services and First-Aid

(3) Hazardous Energy Control (Lockout/Tagout) Procedures

(4) Enclosed Spaces

(5) Personal Protective Equipment

(6) Hand and Portable Power Tools

(7) Material Handling and Storage

(8) De-energizing Lines and Equipment for Employee Protection

(9) Testing and Test Facilities

(10) Mechanical Equipment

(11) Overhead Lines

(12) Line-Clearance Tree-Trimming Operations

(13) Communication Facilities 

(14) Underground Electrical Installations

(15) Substations

(16) Power Generation

(17) Special Conditions

(18) Definitions – OSHA

 

ECSTI offers a membership that gives electricians and contractors exclusive access to State approved Continuing Education Courses, a full library of Stallcup’s Electrical Publications, as well as access to the best electrical training and education on the market. Our interactive video program puts the most reliable electrical information easily at your fingertips 24/7. To subscribe click here

 

For the best new way to complete your education requirements,

visit www.ecsti.com or give the friendly staff a call

1-844-842-8272

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ElectricalCE to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


Minnesota Contractor License Renewal Deadline is March 31st

On: November 11, 2015

Residential building contractor and residential remodeler licenses are issued for a two-year term that always ends March 31. Now, March may be 4 months away but, we all know how fast deadlines sneak up on us. Builders License Training Institute (BLTI) has created a simple way for contractors to meet their required continued education credits.

What are the Requirements for Minnesota Contractors?

  • Complete 14 hours of state approved continued education, including 1-hr of Energy Code every 2 years.

     

  • Continued Education courses may not be completed on the same date, nor can they be duplicates from the previous license cycle.

     

    • Note: It is required by the State of Minnesota that time spent in each course be a minimum of 7 hours.

       

How do I renew my Minnesota Contractors License?

  1. Take 14-HRS of approved continued education

     

  2. Fill out the renewal form found here 

     

  3. Submit renewal form to the state along with license fee 

 

Builders License Training Institute offers many 7-hour continued education courses that give contractors a variety to choose from. The following are just a few of the 7-HR courses that contractors can use to create a 14-HR package for their continuing education. To see our full course list click here.

 

Estimating and Bidding for Success 7-HR Fully Narrated course

  • This course is an introduction to the construction estimating process. The course will explain the methods of construction delivery, different types of estimates, and the tools needed by the estimator to tender a bid. 

 

Minnesota Construction Safety 7-HR Fully Narrated course

  • This course is a review of the safety codes required for residential construction. Students will be able to understand and describe the basic components of a construction safety program. They will recognize the hazards inherent at a construction job site, and describe ways to prevent those hazards.

 

Weatherization and Renewable Energy 7-HR Online Video

  • This course will show contractors what energy efficient products are on the market for their clients in Renewable Energy. In Weatherization contractors will learn how moisture enters into the internal structural areas of a home and what procedures to use in the many tasks involved to head off these problems.

 

These are only 3 examples of the many courses offered by BLTI for Minnesota Contractors. Click here for the complete list.

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education visit www.licensetobuild.com or give the friendly staff a call at: 1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


10 States have Architects License Renewals in December

On: November 9, 2015
Blue prints and plans for a house on a wooden table in a construction zone

Is your Architects License due for renewal?

If you are a licensed architect in Ohio, Alabama, Alaska, Indiana, Louisiana, Nebraska, Nevada, Oregon, Rhode Island, Wyoming than your license will need to be renewed before December 31st, 2015. Each of these states has certain education requirements that must be completed in order to renew your license. If you are not licensed in one of the above states that have a license renewal this month, you can check your license renewal dates and education requirements HERE.

 

Ohio architects must complete 12-hrs of continued education (CE) in approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.

Complete Ohio Architect’s Course Package

Alabama architects must complete 12-hrs of CE in approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.

Complete Alabama Architect’s Course Package

Alaska architects must complete 24-hrs of CE in approved HSW topics biannually in odd numbered years by December 31st.

Complete Alaska Architect’s Course Package

Indiana architects must complete 24-hrs of continuing education every two year cycling period by December 31st. 16 of those hours must be approved HSW topics.

Complete Indiana Architect’s Course Package

Louisiana architects must complete 12-hrs of CE in approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.

Complete Louisiana Architect’s Course Package

Nebraska architects must complete 24-hrs of CE every two year cycling period by December 31st. 16 of those hours must be approved HWS topics.

Complete Nebraska Architect’s Course Package

Nevada architects must complete 8-hrs of CE in approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.

Complete Nevada Architect’s Course Package

Oregon architects must complete 24-hrs of continued education approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.

Complete Oregon Architect’s Course Package

Rhode Island architects must complete 24-hrs of CE by December 31st of odd years. 16 of those hours must be approved HSW topics.

Complete Rhode Island Architect’s Course Package

Wyoming architects must 24-hrs of HWS approved continued education by December 31st biannually depending on issue date.

Complete Wyoming Architect’s Course Package

How should I complete these education requirements as an architect?

As you can see we have linked online course packages that are fully approved by both the states and the AIA that fulfill all state educational requirements for licensure. Within these packages are a variety of educational topics that are designed to update architects on the latest industry trends and topics. These online architect continuing education courses cover great topics like ADA disability access, technological innovations in construction, safety, ethics, and if your state has any specific topic requirements, they are also included in the package. If the courses included in the pre-built packages are tickling your fancy, you are always welcome to choose a la carte from a long list of state approved course topics.

Completing your education requirements as an architect or design professional has never been easier or more convenient. With Architects Training Institute you are able to come and go from your courses at any time, and all courses are either in video or fully narrated, and provide printable text. Our courses are affordable and you can complete them from your computer, laptop or any mobile device.

 

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.architectstraininginstitute.com or give the friendly staff a call at:

1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


Is your Architects License Renewing this Month?

On: November 6, 2015

If you are a licensed architect in California, Idaho, Maryland, Mississippi, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, Washington, and Tennessee than your license will need to be renewed before the end of the month. Each of these states has certain education requirements that must be completed in order to renew your license. If you are not licensed in one of the above states that have a license renewal this month, you can check your license renewal dates and education requirements HERE. 

 

California architects need 5-Hrs. Disability Access of continued education (CE) every 2 year licensing period on their birth month.

Complete California Architect’s Course Package

 

Idaho licensed architects must complete 12 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics every month.

Complete Idaho Architect’s Course Package

 

Maryland licensed architects must complete 24 hours of CE every 2 year licensing period based on approved HSW topics.

Complete Maryland Architect’s Course Package

 

Mississippi licensed architects must complete 24 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics by November 30 (odd numbered years).

Complete Mississippi Architect’s Course Package

 

New Hampshire licensed architects must complete 24 hours of continued education every 2 year licensing period. 8 of those hours must be HSW and 4 must be Sustainable Design.

Complete New Hampshire Architect’s Course Package

 

South Dakota architects must complete 30 hours of CE by the 31st of each month every 2 year licensing period. 20 of those hours must be in Technical Subjects and a maximum of 10 in Professional Management Subjects.

Complete South Dakota Architect’s Course Package

 

Tennessee licensed architects must complete 24 hours of PDH continuing education courses every 2 year licensing period.

Complete Tennessee Architect’s Course Package

 

 Texas architects must complete 12 hours of continued education courses based on approved HSW topics every month.

Complete Texas Architect’s Course Package

 

How should I complete these education requirements as an architect?

 

As you can see we have linked online course packages that are fully approved by both the states and the AIA that fulfill all state educational requirements for licensure. Within these packages are a variety of educational topics that are designed to update architects on the latest industry trends and topics. These online architect continuing education courses cover great topics like ADA disability access, technological innovations in construction, safety, ethics, and if your state has any specific topic requirements, they are also included in the package. If the courses included in the pre-built packages are tickling your fancy, you are always welcome to choose a la carte from a long list of state approved course topics.

 

Completing your education requirements as an architect or design professional has never been easier or more convenient. With Architects Training Institute you are able to come and go from your courses at any time, and all courses are either in video or fully narrated, and provide printable text. Our courses are affordable and you can complete them from your computer, laptop or any mobile device.

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now! 

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.architectstraininginstitute.com or give the friendly staff a call at:

1-800-727-7104 

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.

 


New Addition to the ECSTI Stallcup Library!

On: November 6, 2015

What is it?

James Stallcup Sr. has just introduced a new title to the ECSTI libraryOSHA Electrical Maintenance Regulations Simplified”. This book was created to make OSHA rules easy to understand and enforce. Electrical Codes and Standards Training Institute (ECSTI) is proud to announce that we now offer a book that will help many designers, installers, and inspectors. This book with help those who are having trouble interpreting and applying the complex electrical standards set by the NFPA 70E and OSHA 29 CFR 1926.

About the Book.

This book was developed to make OSHA rules easy to understand and enforce. The rules are taken from NFPA 70E®, Electrical Safety In The Workplace, and combined with OSHA 29 CFR 1910, Subpart S; OSHA 29 CFR 1926, Subpart K; ANSI C2, National Electrical Safety Code, (NESC); and NFPA 70, National Electrical Code (NEC).

 How does this help you?

  • Designers must design and layout electrical systems to meet the provisions of the OSHA standards.
  • Installers are required to install and wire electrical systems to comply with the NEC and provide safety for the employees working in his or her workplace.
  • Inspectors must inspect the electrical system to ensure that it not only complies with the NEC but also provides the necessary safety requirements of OSHA and NFPA 70E.

Where is the book located?

Glad you asked, the book is located in the ECSTI’s library, click here for instructions on how to gain access. ECSTI also offers all of the Stallcup’s books and publications, as well as easy to understand interactive explanations and professional tips in our virtual library. 

 

For the best new way to complete your education requirements,

visit www.ecsti.com or give the friendly staff a call

1-844-842-8272

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ElectricalCE to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


Michigan Offers Real Estate Procrastinators a Silver Lining!

On: November 3, 2015

Real Estate Licensing Deadline

The deadline for renewing your Michigan Real Estate License was October 31st, 2015. Licensees were required to complete at least 18 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycle.  Now, if you are like me, even though you had 3 years to complete the 18-Hr. required CE, you still ran out of time. With the deadline passed and CEU credits to make up what should you do??

There is a Silver lining!

The State of Michigan is offering a 60-day grace period for all Michigan Real Estate Licensees.  How does it work? Realtors who were not able to complete any continuing education courses simply go to Real Estate Training Institute and select one of our 18-Hr packages. For Realtors and Brokers who haven’t been able to squeeze those last few hours of CE into their schedule we have a variety of CE courses to complete your 18-hrs, click here for a list of courses.

What’s next?

Once all the continued education is complete you will submit your renewal application to the state via online or mail. The Real Estate Licensing grace period is $20.00 in addition to the $78.00 renewal fee. 

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.realestatetraininginstitute.com or give the friendly staff a call at:

1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.


Attention All Utah Contractors!

On: November 2, 2015

T-Minus 28 Days

November 30th, is the licensing renewal deadline for all building contractors in the state of Utah. Contractors are required to complete 6-Hrs. Continuing Education each licensing cycle. 3 hours must be “Core” courses and the other 3 may be either “Professional” or “Core”.  Builders License Training Institute (BLTI) is offering an online CEU course that qualify for 6-hrs “Core”. 

What course?

BLTI is offering building contractors the 2010 ADA Standards: Real World Application, as a special CE course. This six hour video course covers the second chapter of the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design. The material is presented by simple narration and power point video, as well as on-site, real world video examples in various accessible buildings, used by both the public and by private businesses. 

Contractors will…

  • Recognize how the overall philosophy of the Americans with Disabilities Act can, and does create an environment of opportunity and non-discrimination.

     

  • Be able to recognize what facilities can, and should comply with ADA standards.

     

  • Outline at least one design strategy based on ADA standards for the construction of either a public or private building.

 

Complete your Continuing Education Now!

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education visit www.licensetobuild.com or give the friendly staff a call at: 1-800-727-7104

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.

 

 

 


ECSTI is heading to Tampa, Florida for the IEC CON!

On: October 16, 2015

Next week Electrical Codes and Standards Training Institute (ECSTI) will be heading to the Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) Conference. The IEC show is from October 21st-23rd at the Tampa Convention Center in Tampa, Florida. We are very excited to be among the many business and industry leaders from across the country to be attending IEC CON’s “Conduit for Profit.”

Special! Special! Special!

While wading through the multitude of vendors and attendee’s, remember that booth # 735 is the place to be! During the show, ECSTI will be offering their “Show Special” where our ECSTI Membership will be $11.00. That’s half off the original membership! This special is a limited time offer and will expire at the end of November. Want a chance to win a free membership? Simply stop by booth # 735 and drop your business card into the drawing. You don’t need to be an IEC CON member to get this special.

The ECSTI Membership Includes:

• Full Journeyman and Masters Study guide books with over 3,500 questions & problems.

Online CEU courses for license renewal.

• Cutting edge interactive video presentations.

• Fully illustrated electrical reference books.

• “Clickable” references-No more searching for info!

 

Like Us! Follow Us! Meet Us!

Stop by booth # 735 to meet the Stallcup brothers and Josh as they show you all that ECSTI has to offer. We’ll be updating you via Facebook, Twitter (@ElectricalCE), LinkedIn (Josh Francis), and yes, even Instagram (ecsti_electrical_ed)!

See you there!

 

 

 For the best new way to complete your education requirements,

visit www.ecsti.com or give the friendly staff a call

1-844-842-8272

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ElectricalCE to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.