Every Michigan contracting company must employ at least one licensed builder. Obtaining a Residential Builder or Maintenance & Alterations license is the fastest way to increase your earnings and a logical step towards owning your own business. The steps to obtaining a license are the same whether your goal is to become a Residential Builder or a Maintenance & Alterations Contractor.
How to Obtain a Michigan Builder/Maintenance & Alterations License
- Complete an approved 60-hour Prelicensure Course
- Complete a license application and pay a $195 fee to the State of Michigan
Approval takes approximately 2-4 weeks
- Register with PSI for the $111 Builder Exam – Free Exam Prep is provided to LicensetoBuild students
Call (800) 733-9267 to register
MICHIGAN RESIDENTIAL BUILDER | MAINTENANCE & ALTERATIONS FAQ
What can I expect from the 60-hour Prelicensure Course?
The 60-hour course consists of 8 sections, each designed to provide the information necessary to pass the state exam and follow building codes.
- Business of Building
- Marketing for Contractors
- Project Management
- Contracts and Risk Management
- Construction Safety
- Overview of Building Trades
- Building Green
- Residential Code Review
The 60-hour package also includes FREE EXAM PREP!
Where can I take the Michigan Residential Builder/Maintenance and Alterations Exam?
Exams are given in Dearborn, Gaylord, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Marquette, and Southfield.
What can I expect from the Michigan Builder/Maintenance & Alterations Exam?
The exam will consist of two parts:
- Part 1: Business/Law: 50 questions | 75 minutes | must answer 36 correctly
- Part 2: Trades/Practices:
- Residential Builders: 110 questions | 150 minutes | you must answer 73 correctly
- Maintenance & Alteration Trades Exam: Exams vary by trade, between 25 & 50 questions.
What is the difference between a Residential Builder License and a Maintenance & Alterations License?
- Residential builders are licensed to build a new home from the ground up and do repairs.
- Maintenance & Alterations Contractors are licensed to perform specific trades only. You may become licensed in more than one trade but you will have to take an exam for each. Trades include:
- Carpentry (A)
- Concrete (B)
- Insulation Work (G)
- Masonry (I)
- Painting & Decorating (J)
- Siding (K)
- Roofing (M)
- Screen & Storm Sash (N)
- Gutters (O)
- Tile & Marble (P)
- House Wrecking (R)
- Swimming Pools (S)
- Basement Waterproofing (T)
How do I obtain a Michigan commercial builder license?
Residential builders are able to do commercial work by having a licensed architect approve commercial blueprints.
60-HOUR PRELICENSURE COURSE
How do I renew my Florida registered contractor license?
Registered contractors must renew their license by August 31, 2017. Licenses can be renewed by following these steps:
- Complete 14 hours of continuing education (see details below)
- Renew your license online
- Pay the appropriate fee (see details below)
What are the continuing education requirements for a Florida registered contractor?
Registered Contractors are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle including one hour of the following topics:
- Specialized or Advanced Module that is approved by the Florida Building Commission
- Workplace Safety
- Business Practices
- Worker’s Compensation
- Laws and Rules Regulating the Construction Industry
- Wind Mitigation Methodologies (if license is held in the following category: General, Building, Residential, Roofing, Specialty Structure, or Glass & Glazing)
The remaining hours may include any of the above topics or general topics to the industry.
Where can I find courses to renew my Florida registered contractor?
Builders License Training Institute offers a complete 14-hour renewal package and individual courses for Florida registered contractors. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device.
What is the fee to renew my Florida registered contractor license?
Registered contractors must pay varying fees depending on their license status.
- Current, Active Individual – $209.00
- Current, Active Qualifying Business – $259.00
- Delinquent, Active Individual – $309.00
- Delinquent, Active Qualifying Business – $359.00
- Current, Inactive – $59.00
- Delinquent, Inactive – $218.00
FLORIDA APPROVED REGISTERED CONTRACTOR CONTINUING EDUCATION
How do I renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Unrestricted, restricted, and specialty construction supervisors are required contractors to:
- Complete the required continuing education (see table below)
- Request a renewal application from DPS here. (check your spam folders for a message titled “Renewal Notice Enclosed”. Allow 3 days to receive the form.
- Complete and mail the renewal application with a $100 fee, allow 5 weeks for processing
Renew your license online with a $100 fee.
What continuing education do I need to renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Massachusetts construction supervisors must complete varying continuing education depending on their license type.
|Unrestricted Construction Supervisors
||12 hours of continuing education
|Restricted Construction Supervisors
||10 hours of continuing education
|Specialty Construction Supervisors
||6 hours of continuing education per category*
*Specialty construction supervisors have a maximum of 12 hours of continuing education, even if you are licensed in all 6 categories you must complete 12 hours of continuing education.
Where do I find courses to renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Builders License Training Institute offers Massachusetts approved continuing education. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device. You may purchase courses at any point in your licensing cycle and have access to them until your expiration date or six months from purchase, whichever is longer.
I missed the renewal date for my Massachusetts construction supervisor license, what do I do?
You may not legally work until you have renewed your license. Licenses can be renewed for up to two years after expiration.
- Expired less than 2 years – You may renew your license by paying an additional $100 fee, meaning late renewals cost $200.
- Expired more than 2 years – You must retake the exam and apply for a new license.
Massachusetts Construction Supervisor Continuing Education