EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW TO RENEW YOUR OHIO REAL ESTATE LICENSE

How do I renew my Ohio salesperson or broker license?
Your license must be renewed every 3 years on your date of birth. Licenses can be renewed by following these steps:

  1. Submit the appropriate renewal fee
    Salesperson: $135.00
    Broker: $180.00
  2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
  3. Complete and submit a renewal application – COM3681
  4. All paperwork must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date

What continuing education is required to renew my Ohio broker or salesperson license?
Brokers and salespeople must complete 30 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle. Courses must include:

  • 3-hours of Core Law
  • 3-hours of Civil Rights
  • 3-hours of Ohio Canons of Ethics
  • 21-hours of Elective courses

Where can I find courses to renew my Ohio broker or salesperson license?
Real Estate Training Institute offers a 30-hour package and individual courses to meet all of your renewal requirements. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device.

Who submits my Ohio broker or salesperson continuing education?
Ohio requires brokers, salespeople, and education providers to submit continuing education. Real Estate Training Institute will submit your continuing education Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing within two business days of course completion, you may print your certificates at home immediately after completing the course.


Ohio Real Estate Continuing Education
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

Share

How to use a Drone for Real Estate

The real estate business is changing. The market is increasingly competitive and most prospective Phome buyers check online listings before contacting an agent or viewing homes in person. Drones can help your online listings leave a lasting impression on potential clients.

How do I use drones to enhance my real estate listings?
Drones are a great tool for capturing the scope of appropriate homes and properties. For example, drones can be used to provide a moving tour through the inside of large homes, giving prospective buyers a much better idea of property layout and dimensions than photos. Drones are also useful for displaying properties with magnificent views or large yards. Often drones are used to take video or pictures from high altitudes to capture a full view of the yard in relation to natural surroundings such as lakes or woods. The photo above is a particularly dramatic example of using a drone to capture the magnitude and beauty of properties.

Do I have to follow any regulations to use drones for my real estate listings?
Yes, all commercial drone pilots must possess a Remote Pilot in Command Certificate which can be obtained by passing the FAA Remote Pilot in Command Exam.

Step 1: Pay the $5 fee and register any aircraft that weighs more than 0.55lbs.
Step 2:  Pass the $150 Small UAS Remote Pilot Exam – exam prep is available here.
Step 3: Pass a TSA background check
Step 4: File FAA Form 8710-13

Check out our Complete Guide to Commercial Drone Use for more information.

FAA REMOTE PILOT IN COMMAND EXAM PREP
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutes.edu

Share

NEW YORK CITY HISTORIC HOMES

David LaTourette House
Photo by: Daniel Case

The David LaTourette House was built in 1836 by the prosperous farmer, David LaTourette. The LaTourette family operated the farm from 1864-1910, the property was sold to the city in 1928. The city converted the home to a clubhouse for the LaTourette Park Golf Course. The home is a brick, Federal-style building in the middle of the 540-acre LaTourette Park.

Park Avenue Robb House
Photo by: Beyond My Ken

The Robb House at 23 Park Avenue was built in 1890 by renowned architect, Stanford White in the Italian Renaissance Revival style. The home was constructed as a mansion for James Hampden Robb, a retired businessman, and former state senator.  and currently, operates as a Co-op with 5 floors and 17 apartments.

Estherwood
Photo by: Daniel Case

Estherwood is a late 19th-century mansion on The Masters School campus in Dobbs Ferry New York. The home was built for industrial tycoon James Jenning McComb. The home was built around an octagonal library which had been the centerpiece of McComb’s’ prior home. The Renaissance Revival home is detailed with marble and gold leaf.

Cornelius Evans House
Photo by: Daniel Case

The Cornelius Evans House was built in 1861 out of brick and sandstone. The Evans family built the home as an homage to their success after their brewery, Evans Company, became an immense success.  The Evans Company thrived until 1920 when Prohibition forced it to close. The home has since been used as a community center and a private residence.

NEW YORK SALESPERSON AND BROKER RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

RENEWAL CYCLE: 2 years
RENEWAL DEADLINE: 2 years from date of issuance
CONTINUING EDUCATION: 22.5 hours

NEW YORK COMPLETE RENEWAL PACKAGE

1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstutesedu.com

Share

Minnesota Real Estate License Renewal

How do I renew my Minnesota real estate license?
Minnesota real estate salespeople and brokers must renew their licenses every two years by June 30th. To meet renewal requirements, you must

  1. Complete 30 hours of continuing education
  2. Pay a fee
    • Salesperson: $60 + $10 technical processing fee
    • Brokers: $120 +$10 technical processing fee
  3. Go to the Minnesota Real Estate Commission portal and renew your license be 4:30 pm central time on June 30th.

What continuing education is required to renew my Minnesota real estate license?
You must complete 30 credit hours of approved courses each 2-year cycle. Courses are broken into two 15 hour modules. Courses must include:

  • 1 credit hour of Fair Housing
  • 1 credit hour of Agency Law
  • 1 credit hour of Residential Contracts for 2016-2017 renewal
  • You cannot take the same course twice in a licensing cycle

When must my Minnesota real estate license continuing education be completed by to avoid license lapsing?
Continuing education must be completed by June 30th, however, if you wait until the last two weeks of June to complete your continuing education you risk having your license lapse as well. It takes the state time to process realtor renewals, if your renewal is not processed by July 10th your license will lapse.

Where do I find courses to renew my Minnesota real estate license?
Real Estate Training Institute offers Minnesota approved online continuing education courses to renew your license. We offer a 15-hour package and individual courses to meet requirements for your 2017 module. Individual courses are also available.

Who submits my continuing education to the state of Minnesota?
Real Estate Training Institute will submit all Minnesota resident continuing education. Nonresidents are responsible for submitting their own continuing education to the state. Continuing education certificates are available immediately after completing courses.

MINNESOTA ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

Share

NEVADA REAL ESTATE RENEWAL FAQS

How do I renew my Nevada real estate license?
Nevada salespeople and brokers must renew their license one year after their initial licensure. After the first renewal cycle realtors must renew every two years by the original date of issuance. To renew, license holders must complete the state required continuing education, pay the appropriate fee and complete Form 580 or renew online.

What are my Nevada Realtor continuing education requirements?
Continuing education requirements for first-year renewals are different from all subsequent renewals. Individuals holding a broker-salesperson license must complete the same continuing education as brokers.

 RENEWAL CREDITS STATE RENEWAL FEES
 Salesperson 1st 30 credit hours
– 3 hours Agency
– 3 hours Contracts
– 3 hours Ethics
.
– 3 hours Law & Legislation
– 18 hours General Courses
.
$180
 Salesperson Subsequent 24 credit hours
– 3 hours Agency
– 3 hours Contracts
– 3 hours Ethics
.
– 3 hours Law & Legislation
– 18 hours General Courses
.
$180
 Broker 1st 30 credit hours
– 3 hours Agency
– 3 hours Contracts
– 3 hours Ethics
.
– 3 hours Law & Legislation
– 3 hours Broker Management-
– 12 hours General Courses
$220
 Broker Subsequent 24 credit hours
– 3 hours Agency
– 3 hours Contracts
– 3 hours Ethics
.
– 3 hours Law & Legislation
– 3 hours Broker Management-
– 9 hours General Courses
$220

 

Where can I find courses to meet my Nevada salesperson or broker renewal requirements?
Nevada has specific requirements regarding how many continuing education credits may be obtained online versus in-classroom. Salespeople and brokers must complete their 30-hour continuing education for their first renewal cycle in-classroom. Additionally, the state of Nevada allows realtors to complete only half of their required continuing education online, the rest of your continuing education must be completed in a classroom setting. Real Estate Training Institute offers online courses and packages to meet all of your general education needs. Courses are available 24/7 from any internet capable device. In-classroom continuing education courses can be found here.

Do I have to complete continuing education if my Nevada real estate license is inactive?
Nevada salespeople and brokers do not have to complete continuing education to maintain an inactive license. However, license holders must pay the appropriate renewal fee (see table above) and complete Form 580 each renewal cycle. When you are ready to reinstate your license, you must complete Form 544.

How long do I have to renew my expired Nevada real estate license?

You can renew your license for up to 12 months past the expiration date by paying an additional fee of $75 for salespeople and $95 for brokers and broker-salespeople.  You may not perform any activities that require a license until your license is renewed.

What happens if my Nevada real estate license is expired more than one year?
If your license has been expired for more than one year you must complete a new application for licensure, retake the state exam, and complete a new fingerprint verification.

NEVADA ONLINE GENERAL EDUCATION COURSES
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutes.edu

Share

GUIDE TO RENEWING YOUR UTAH REALTOR LICENSE

How do I renew my Utah realtors license?

Licenses can be renewed no sooner than 6 weeks prior to and no later than the expiration date. The first step to renewal is completing 18 hours of continuing education including 9 hours of HSW. Once your continuing education is complete you can renew your license online by logging into the Utah License Management System. Brokers must pay $48 and sales agents must pay $42 to renew.

Where do I find courses to renew my Utah realtors license?

Real Estate Training Institute offers a complete renewal package or individual courses for Utah realtors. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device. Realtors will have access to courses from the moment of purchase through the duration of their renewal cycle.

Who submits my Utah completed continued education?

It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep all records of completed continuing education. You will be able to download and print your certificate immediately after completing the course. If you do not have access to a printer Real Estate Training Institute will mail you a certificate.

Do I need continuing education if my Utah real estate license is inactive?

If your license is inactive and you renew your license on time you do not need to complete any continuing education.  If you miss your renewal date by more than 30 days you must complete 24 hours of continuing education and pay a $50 late fee.

What happens if my Utah real estate license expires?

Utah realtors may not work if their license has expired. Licenses can be reinstated for up to a year, steps for renewal and fees vary depending on how far past your expiration date you are. Licenses can be renewed online here.

 DURATION OF LAPSE STEPS FOR RENEWAL  STATE FEES
 .
Less than 30 days
.
1. Renew online $50
 30 days – 6 months 1. Complete 24 hours of continuing education
2. Renew your license online
$15 for inactive licenses
$42 or sales agents
$48 for brokers
$100 reinstatement fee
 6 months – 12 months 1. Complete 42 hours of continuing education
2. Renew your license online
$15 for inactive licenses
$42 or sales agents
$48 for brokers
$100 reinstatement fee
.
More than 1 year
.
1. Reapply for a license as a new applicant

*Contact the Department of Regulatory Agencies with any questions regarding license expiration: 1-800-886-7675 

UTAH CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

 

 

Share

Denver Homes Values have Recuperated from the 2008 Recession

According to a recent Trulia analysis, almost 99 percent of homes in metro Denver have, at a minimum, regained prerecession prices, many houses have surpassed their pre-recession costs. The same analysis shows only a third of homes nationwide earning their prerecession prices.

Most counties in Denver have regained their values, only the Western Slope counties are still valued lower than their pre-2008 prices. Metro Denver has seen a 50.5 percent increase from their former $237,071, the highest gain in the Trulia analysis.

Unfortunately, metro Denver incomes have only gone up 20 percent since the recession so many buyers are searching for homes outside the metro area. This search has created housing booms in areas such as Colorado Springs where home values are up 93.4 percent from their prior peak.

Need to Renew a Colorado Real Estate License?

RENEWAL DEADLINE 3 YEARS FROM ISSUANCE
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 24 CREDIT HOURS
WHERE TO RENEW COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES

COMPLETE ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION PACKAGE

Colorado Continuing Education Courses
1-800-727-7104
into@traininginstitutesedu.com

 

Share

Georgia Real Estate Complete Renewal Package

How do I renew my Georgia Real Estate License?

The state of Georgia requires you to complete 36 hours of continuing education every 4 years, your license will expire every four years at the end of your birthday month.  Once you’ve completed your continuing education you will submit your certificate of completion, renewal fee, and renewal form online or by mail. Online renewals cost $100, by-mail renewals are $125.

*NOTE: IF YOUR LICENSE NUMBER IS LESS THAN 100,000 YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED TO COMPLETE CONTINUING EDUCATION

Where do I find courses to renew my Georgia Real Estate License?

Real Estate Training Institute offers Georgia approved continuing education, including a 36-hour Complete Renewal Package. Courses are available to you 24/7 for the duration of your licensing cycle. Real Estate Training Institute will submit your certificates of completion to Georgia within one-to-two days after completion, a copy will also be available for realtors immediately after finishing the course.

What happens if I miss my Georgia real estate renewal date?

The process for reinstating an expired Georgia real estate license differs based on the circumstances leading to expiration.

  • If you did not complete your 25 hour post license education the first year of licensure:
    You will need to complete an approved 25-hour post license course, fill out a Real Estate Change Form and pay a $100 fee plus an additional $25 fee for every month past the expiration date.
  • If you did not complete your continuing education any year after your first:
    Your license will immediately become inactive. In order to reactivate your license, you must complete your continuing education and pay your renewal fee.
  • If you did not pay your renewal fees:
    If your license has lapsed for less than one year you can simply pay your fees to reinstate. If it has been more than a year you must complete a Reinstate License Lapsed for Fees

Questions Regarding Georgia Licensing & Expiration:

Georgia Real Estate Commission
404-656-3916
grecmail@grec.state.ga.us
229 Peachtree Street, N.E.
International Tower, Suite 1000
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1605


Georgia Continuing Education Courses
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

Share

Tips for Flipping Houses in Michigan

Flipping houses can be incredibly profitable if done correctly but many first-time home flippers lose money by making beginner mistakes.  Ask yourself a few questions before you decide to flip a home and make sure it is a good venture for you.

Do I have enough money to flip homes?

Many first-time home flippers fail to consider costs aside from the initial acquisition. Make sure you also take interest, holding costs (taxes, utilities), and renovation costs into account when deciding if you should purchase a home to flip.

Do I have the skills to renovate a house?

If you can do the work yourself you may be able to make house flipping lucrative. On the other hand, if you must pay a professional to do the work it will eat into your profits. Make sure you do not go overboard with renovations.  You need to make sure you do enough work to increase the value of the house without sinking all your profits into upgrades.

Do I know the neighborhood?

Make sure you know the average selling price of homes in an area before you purchase. If you’re considering buying a $60,000 house in a neighborhood where homes sell for $100,000 you will want to make sure renovations won’t cost more than $40,000 or you won’t turn a profit.

Do I need a license to flip houses in Michigan?

Depending on the frequency and nature of work you will be doing you may need a builders or maintenance & alterations license and/or a real estate salesperson license.

A builders license is necessary for any person who purchases, substantially rehabilitates or improves, and resells a residential structure, within one year unless the home is for your own use and occupancy, you contract/hire a licensee to perform all the work, or you have a licensed employee do the work.

real estate salesperson license is necessary if you make more than 4 transactions per year. That means you cannot purchase and sell two homes within one year without being licensed.

How do I obtain a Michigan builders or maintenance & alterations license?

The first step to obtaining a Michigan builders or maintenance & alterations license is completing an approved 60-hour pre-license course either online or in classroom. Once the 60-hour course is complete you must fill out an application form and submit a $195 payment to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). The state will contact you 2-4 weeks after receiving your application at which point you can take the state builders exam.  You will receive your state license in the mail shortly after passing the state exam.

How do I obtain a real estate salesperson license in Michigan?

First, you will need to complete a 40-hour pre-licensure course. Then, submit a real estate application to the state and find a broker to house your license. Once your application has been processed by the state you will need to pass a state license exam.

Like most endeavors flipping homes takes practice and patience. Make sure you give yourself enough time to find a home priced correctly, in a good neighborhood before you purchase.

Interested in obtaining your builder or real estate salesperson license?

 

40-hour Prelicense Course
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com
Online 60-hour Prelicense Course | Classroom 60-hour Prelicense Course
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

 

 

Share

New York Real Estate – Complete Renewal Package

What courses do I need to renew my New York real estate license?

New York realtors must renew their licenses every two years from the date of issuance by completing 22.5 hours of continuing education. Continuing education requirements vary slightly depending on the duration of licensure. License holders always need 22.5 hours of CE to renew including 3 hours of fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property. License holders renewing for the first time also need 2 hours of agency law. Subsequent renewals only include 1 hour of agency law.

Where do I find courses to renew my New York real estate license?

Real Estate Training Institute offers a complete online course package which meets all of New York’s requirements for first time and long time realtor renewals. Courses are also available in smaller packages or individually to help you meet the required 22.5 hours. Real Estate Training Institute continuing education can be started at any time. Courses will be available to you for the duration of your renewal cycle 24/7. Get started today and avoid last minute scrambling.

NEW YORK ONLINE CE COURSES

How do I renew my New York real estate license?

After completing 22.5 hours of continuing education brokers and salespeople can renew their licenses online through the New York Division of Licensing Services. Salespeople will pay a $50 renewal fee and brokers will pay $100. Continuing education for the next renewal cycle can be started at any time during your renewal cycle.

Continuing Education for New York Realtors
1-800-727-7104
info@traininginstitutesedu.com

Share