Real Estate Brokers in the state of Colorado are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education every three years. 12 of the 24 hours must consist of 3 different versions of the four-hour Annual Commission Update course. The remaining 12-hours can be any combination of elective credit hours approved by the Commission.
All active real estate brokers are required to attend the four-hour Annual Commission Update course each year and pass the exam. The course has important information about current statutes and rules promulgated by the Commission. Brokers are strongly encouraged to attend the course early in the calendar year. If four (4) versions of the update course during the license cycle, the fourth class may be counted toward the elective credit requirement. It may not be used for credit in the next/upcoming license cycle
Colorado Brokers renew their license triennially on the anniversary of their original license date. Brokers can renew their license by logging on to their DORA account, filling out the renewal form and paying the $186.00 renewal fee.
Brokers are required by the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) to retain all records of their completed continuing education. Real Estate Training Institute offers downloadable certificates of completion for each completed online course.
Inactive License Continuing Education Requirements
If your license has been inactive for longer than three (3) years/36 months, you MUST complete either:
- The State portion of the Colorado Broker’s Exam, or
- 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts & Regulations and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings (for a total of 72 hours).