New Mexico Electrical Continuing Education Simplified
Electrical contractors in New Mexico are required to complete at least 16 hours of continuing education every three years in order to renew their license. This includes journeymen electricians and journeymen linemen. The renewal deadline is every three years on the last day of the month that electricians were initially licensed. This education can be taken in a classroom or online, but the content must be approved by the New Mexico Construction Industries Board and must include at least eight (8) hours of electrical code updates.
All New Mexico electrical contractors will receive a license renewal application in the mail approximately 30 days prior to their expiration date. Proof of completion of the continuing education requirements must be submitted to the Division with the application for renewal. Renewal applications must be accompanied by a proof of completion of continuing education.
The renewal fee for renewal applications is $75 per classification, with a $6 charge for each duplicate card. For a chart of all licensing and application fees can be found HERE.
The State of New Mexico Draws A Hard Line on Renewal Dates and License Renewals
If licensees do not renew by the expiration date, the license is suspended and there is a $25 penalty assess. If the license is not renewed with six months of the expiration date, the certificate is cancelled. Renewals that are rejected are returned to the licensee for correction and are considered not submitted. Incomplete or incorrect renewal applications will not be processed and the application fee is not refunded.
NOTE: Licensed journeymen in New Mexico have reciprocity with eleven (11) States.
For the fastest and most economical way to complete your electrical continuing education, visit www.ecsti.com or give the friendly staff a call at 1-800-727-7104.