Florida Contractors must renew their license by August 31st 2016 every year. Part of the renewal process is completing 14-hours of approved continued education. Along with turning in your renewal application to the Florida Contractors and Licensing Board, you must include the renewal fee ($209.00 Active Individual, $259.00 Active Qualifying Business and $100.00 extra per delinquent). Education providers are required to submit proof of completed hours to the State of Florida.
Florida Contractor Continued Education Requirements:
All Registered Contractors and Certified Contractors are required to complete fourteen (14) hours of continuing education each renewal cycle. Of the fourteen hours, one hour is required in each of the following topics:
- Specialized or Advanced Module that is approved by the Florida Building Commission
- Workplace Safety
- Business Practices
- Worker’s Compensation
- Laws and Rules Regulating the Construction Industry
- Wind Mitigation Methodologies (if license is held in the following category: General, Building, Residential, Roofing, Specialty Structure, or Glass & Glazing.
The remaining hours may include any of the above topics or general topics to the industry.
Do I Have to Submit My Contractor Continuing Education Certificate to The State?
You don't, but your provider does. Approved continuing education providers must submit all completed hours to the state so that they can be applied to your specific license. This is one of the many reasons choosing a high-quality training provider (such as Builders License Training Institute) is so important.
Where can I find Online Electrical Continuing Education that is Approved in Florida?
Builders License Training Institute continuing education that is approved in Florida. With packages that fulfill all requirements, a system that will keep track of all your certificated, submissions, and will even alert you the next time your renewal comes around. To find out more about completing your continuing education online click here.