Return to Blog
Architect Education, Never Stop Learning, Architect Sharing Their Knowledge, Architec CE

Good Architects Never Stop Learning, Great Architects Pass Their Knowledge On


Good Architects Never Stop Learning and Growing


In order to practice architecture, or even call yourself an architect, you must be licensed.  There are four main steps to becoming a licensed architect in most of the United States: education, internship, examination and licensure.  Most States  also require a fifth step to maintain your license by completing some form of continuing education. As an architect, don’t let your unique knowledge and skill set go to waste. Sharing the lessons you have learned over years of experience is easier than ever. Here is an outline of current educational requirements, and how you can share your knowledge with the world. 


Initial Education – The first step is obtaining one of the three types of professional degrees in architecture.   There are over 100 schools of architecture that have degree programs accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the only agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in the US.  Each State sets its own standards.  Some states do not require an accredited program, but if you have a non-professional degree, you will also need to earn an NCARB Certificate by taking additional education.

NCARB web site


Internship – Most states require architecture graduates to fulfill an experience requirement in order to become licensed.  This can be done through NCARB’s Intern Development Program (IDP).  Most of the experience needs to be completed under the supervision of a licensed architect, but some can be completed in different work settings such as professional and community service.  Here is a link to the IDP Guidelines: 

IDP Guidelines:


Examination – All 54 States and jurisdictions require the completion of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE).  There are seven divisions to the exam consisting of multiple choice and graphical questions that test your knowledge, skills and ability to provide various services.  The exams are taken separately and are administered by a testing center called Prometric. There is a fee for each of the seven divisions.

ARE link:


Licensure – All  jurisdictions require you to be licensed or registered before you can call yourself an architect or contract to provide services.  Licensing requirements include a professional degree, practical training and passing the ARE.  Contact the Board for your State to find out the specific State Requirements for Architect Licensure

State Requirements Link:


Continuing Education – State requirements vary by state, but usually involve the completion of a certain number of credits or hours annually or biannually.  This education can be taken online, through workshops, formal classroom courses, conferences, etc. 

Our link:


Great Architects Pass On Their Knowledge


Giving back to the Community – Architects and design professionals are artists, planners, and creators, each with his or her own flair and style. As an architect, you develop your style and techniques over a period of time. The unique skills and knowledge architects develop over time are valuable, and far too often not passed on. It doesn’t have to be that way. If you have unique skills, design knowledge, ideas, or even a list of tips you have developed over your career, other architects are interested and want to learn! Authoring an online course is easier than ever, and Architect’s Training Institute has a experience educational staff to help you every step of the way. This is the opportunity to pass on your knowledge, and make a residual income at the same time. We are always looking for new topics and fresh ideas, so if you have knowledge that you would like to share with your community, contact Architect’s Training Institute and get start today!


Share your Knowledge, there is a whole world out there that wants to learn!


Return to Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *