How do I get a Maryland contractors license?
- All applicants must take and pass the licensing exam before they can apply for a license. - Online Maryland Home Improvement Exam Prep
Our course gives you everything you need to know to pass the exam, as well as links to all the necessary information and forms needed to apply for your license. The exam is open book and is taken through PSI Examination Services.
- Apply for a License from the Maryland Home Improvement Commission.Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation–Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Maryland Home Improvement Commission
500 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651
Email: [email protected]
Are there Maryland Contractors License Requirements?
- Any applicant who has had a conviction of a misdemeanor relating to a home improvement transaction or a felony must provide the Maryland Home Improvement Commission with copies of conviction records.
- Applicants for a Maryland contractor’s license must provide proof of at least two years of experience in home improvement work, construction and/or related education.
- Applicants must provide proof of financial solvency based on the scope and size of their business in relation to total assets, liabilities, credit rating and net worth (A credit report application form can be found at this address: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/mhicaff.shtml#forms ).
- If a contractor represents a corporation, articles of incorporation and a certificate of good standing from the Department of Assessments and Taxation must be submitted.
- A contractor using a trade name must first check with the Commission to make sure the name is available for use with the Commission and then register the name with the Department of Assessments and Taxation.
- A certificate of trade name registration must be submitted with the license application.
- Proof of current $50,000 liability insurance must be filed with the application for licensure.
Contractors must show proof of current $50,000 liability insurance at the time of application for original and renewal license. This insurance must be in effect at all times. As of October 1, 2002, contractors must give the Commission notice of cancellation of liability insurance at least 10 days before the effective date of the cancellation.
Is Contractor continuing education required?
No. Maryland does not require continuing education after initial licensure.
Does Maryland require a Gneral Contractor (commercial) license?
Maryland does require a commercial license, however, there is no test required to obtain this license. Applicants must contact the State License Bureau at www.MarylandTaxes.com or 410-260-6240.