Posted on

Is Your Electrical License Renewing This Month?

Electrician checking cabling power line

Alaska

Electrical Journeyman are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education every two years from the date of licensure, (at least 8 of these hours must be based on current NEC Changes). Electrical Administrators are required to complete 8 hours of approved continued education and renew by December 31st of odd numbered years.

Arizona

Electrical Licenses are managed at the county level. For information on specific requirements you must contact your local electrical licensing board for more information. NEC is not adopted by the state. Phoenix and surrounding communities enforce the NEC. 

California

Electrical professionals must complete 32 hours of continued education relevant to their category of certification. Electrical Certifications expire three years from the effective date.

Idaho

Master and Journeyman Electricians must complete 24 hours of electrical continued education each 3-year licensing cycle. 16 hours must be on the latest edition of National Electrical Code (NEC); the remaining 8 hours can consist of approved industry related topics.

Kentucky

Electrician’s are required to complete 6 hours of continuing education every year. Master electricians and electrician licensees are required to complete 6 hours in approved CE related the NEC.

Maine

Electrician renew their licenses every 2 years from the date of licensure. 15 hours of approved electrical continuing education is required every 3 years or when the National Electrical Code (NEC) is updated.

Minnesota

Master, Journeyman, Elevator, Maintenance, Installer and Power Limited Technicians need to complete 16 hours of continuing education. 12 of the 16 hours will need to cover the National Electric Code ( NEC ). The other 4 hours will need to cover Minnesota statutes and rules or technical topics related to installations and equipment.

North Carolina

Electricians have a yearly renewal cycle that expires from the date of licensure. 8 hours of continuing education is required for U, I, and L licenses. 4 of the 8 hours must be completed in a classroom.

New Hampshire

Licensed Journeymen and Master Electricians must complete 15 hours of continuing education each licensing cycle. The continuing education hours must cover changes to the NFPA 70, NEC; RSA 319-C; New Hampshire Rules; and common deficiencies in electrical installations, as determined by the board.

New Mexico

Electricians are required to complete 16 hours of approved electrical continuing education every 3 years. Journeymen electricians and Journeymen Linemen electrical CE must cover 8 hours of NEC and 8 hours of industry related approved topics.

Oklahoma

Electricians are required to complete 6 hours of approved electrical continuing education every three years. These hours must consist of National Electrical Code updates and changes.

Tennessee

Continuing education requirements for electricians is handled at the local level in the State of Missouri. Please check with your local authority to determine if our courses will meet your requirements.

Texas

Electricians must complete 4 hours of continuing education each year. The required electrical continued education topics are 2014 NEC Code changes, Occupational Code 1305, Administrative Rules 73, and Electrical Safety ( NFPA 70E ).

Virginia

Electricians must complete 3 hours of National Electric Code updates every two years. The electrician license renewal is due by the last day of the of the month of the anniversary of the license issue date.

Vermont

Master and Journeyman Electricians are required to complete 15 hours of electrical continuing education every three years. These electrical education courses hours must be based on the National Electrical Code. Type S Journeymen require 8 hours of electrical education based on their specialty with a maximum of 15 hours if licensed in more than 1 specialty.

Washington

Electricians must complete a total of 24 hours of electrical continuing education, 8 must be on the NEC and 4 must be on the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.28. The remaining 12 hours can be any state approved continued education courses each triennial license cycle.

West Virginia

Electrical Inspectors are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education units (CEUs), on industry topics every year on the anniversary month of their certification date. Electrical Engineers are required to complete 15 approved Professional Development hours (PDH) that include NEC related topics.