In the state of Florida electricians are required to complete 14 hours of approved electrical continuing education. In Miami-Dade County electricians are required to complete 16 hours of approved continued education.
Florida requires that of these 14 hours at least:
- 7 hours on Technical Subjects
- 1 hours on Worker’s Compensation
- 1 hour on Workplace Safety
- 1 hour on Business Practices
- 1 hour on Advanced Building Code
- 3 hours General
Electrical Codes and Standards Training Institute (ECSTI) now offers fully approved online video courses, which fulfill all state and county, required electrical continued education. Our interactive online education courses for electricians and electrical contractors, are instructed by the highly acclaimed author and instructor, James Stallcup.
ECSTI’s FL 7-HR Courses Include:
- Interactive coverage of changes to the National Electrical Code for the 2014 update.
- Required Competency: Workplace Safety, Business Practices (Lien Law), Workers’ Compensation, Electrical Laws and Rules, Thermal and Moisture Protection (Advanced Module), and NFPA 70E Electrical Safety (Technical).
- Interactive video course focuses on simplifying some of the more complicated rules pertaining to the design, installation and selection of wiring methods and equipment.
Do I have to turn in my Electrical Continuing Education Certificate to the state?
You don’t, but your provider does. Approved electrical continuing education providers must submit all completed hours to the state so that they can be applied to your specific license. This is one of the many reasons choosing a high-quality training provider such as ECSTI is so important.