Posted on

Less than 60 days to renew your Oregon Electrical License

Young woman in uniform repairing something with screwdriver

Electricians in the state of Oregon are required to complete approved electrical continuing education before their license renewal date of October 1st. During each three-year period, all licensees shall complete required hours of approved continuing education of which 2 to 12 hours must be on Code Changes, 2 to 8 must be Code related and remaining on Oregon Rule & Law. The number of required continued education hours vary by license type. See chart below for total required hours. 

License Type Year License Expires Required Code Change Hours Oregon Rule & Law
Hours
Code Related,
or other code change hours
Total Required Continuing Education hours
(all credits may be in Code Change)
 

General Supervising Electrician (S)

 

2016

 

12

 

4

 

8

 

24

 

Limited Supervising Electrician (PS)

 

2016

 

12

 

4

 

8

 

24

 

General Journeyman Electrician (J)

 

2015

 

8

 

4

 

12

 

24

 

Limited Journeyman — Manufacturing Plant Electrician (PJ)

 

2017

 

8

 

 

8

 

16

 

Limited Residential Electrician (LR)

 

2015

 

8

 

4

 

4

 

16

 

Limited Maintenance Electrician (LME)

 

2017

 

2

 

 

6

 

8

 

Limited Energy Technician Class A (LEA)

 

2017

 

8

 

 

 

8

 

Limited Energy Technician Class B (LEB)

 

2017

 

2

 

 

6

 

8

 

Limited Renewable Energy Technician (LRT)

 

2017

 

2

 

2

 

4

 

Limited Journeyman Sign Electrician (SIG)

 

2017

 

2

 

2

 

4

How Do I Renew My Oregon Electrical License?

You will receive a renewal notice in the mail six weeks before your license expiration date. Complete this renewal form and include the renewal fee and send this into the State of Oregon to renew your license. See below for each license renewal fee:

  • General Supervising Electrician (S) — $100
  • Limited Supervising Electrician (PS) — $100
  • General Journeyman Electrician (J) — $100
  • Limited Journeyman – Manufacturing Plant Electrician (PJ) — $100
  • Limited Residential Electrician (LR) — $100
  • Limited Maintenance Electrician (LME) — $100
  • Limited Energy Technician Class A (LEA) — $50
  • Limited Energy Technician Class B (LEB) — $50
  • Limited Renewable Energy Technician (LRT) — $50
  • Limited Journeyman Sign Electrician (SIG) — $50

Electrical Codes and Standards Training Institute (ECSTI) has eight approved electrical courses that will count towards completing all required continued education. Our online courses are created with interactive HD videos that include “clickable” references which allow students to explore information and details that substantiate the lesson content.