Contractors are required to complete six hours of approved continued education per year by December 31st to renew their Louisiana Contractor License. This increased in January, 2012 from four hours to six hours each year. As of February 2012, continuing education is not required for contractors who hold Commercial licenses in the following classifications:
- Commercial Building Construction
- Highway, Street and Bridge Construction, or
- Municipal and Public Works Construction
Is there a penalty if I don’t renew my Louisiana Contractors License on time?
A delinquent penalty of $50 for late renewal of Commercial and Residential contractor licenses may be assessed 15 days following the expiration date. Failure to renew your license within six months after your renewal date will result in forfeiture of your renewal rights and you will have to start all over.
Who Offers Approved Online Continued Education?
Builders License Training Institute offers several online continuing education courses. Each course is 6-hour and 3-hours so contractors can mix and match to create a package to suit their learning preferences.
Top 3 Continued Education Courses:
- Drones in Construction: This state approved 3-hour course will teach you the basics of UAV/Drone Technology, Rules and Regulations, Cost of Drones, and how you can use them in the construction industry.
- Manage Your Way to Big Profits: This six-hour course will help prepare the learner for the scope of responsibilities that a professional construction project manager must be prepared to perform.
- Estimating and Bidding for Success: Online Fully Narrated with Printable Text. This 6 Hour course is excellent for builders and estimators entering the field, as well as architects, engineers, and contractors learning new tricks of the trade. AIA Approved and fulfills Builders License Continuing Education in several states.