Miami-Dade Electricians are required to complete 16-hours of Continued Education each licensing cycle. Miami-Dade County Board states that no more than 50% of the total required CEU’s can be completed online. Electricians in the state of Florida (including Miami-Dade County) have a renewal date of August 31 of even years.
NOTE: Electricians and Contractors who are not in Miami-Dade County are required to complete 14-hours of approved electrical CE.
Florida Electrical CE Requirements
The state requires electricians complete 14-hours of Board approved CE prior to the renewal period. The required 14 hours must include:
- 7-hours of Technical Subjects
- 1-Hour of Workers’ Compensation
- 1-Hour of Workplace Safety
- 1-hour of Business Practices
- 1-hour of Advanced Building Code
- 3-hours of General
Miami-Dade County online courses
Florida Chapter 10 Rules and Florida Statute 713 Liens are the two courses that are approved as part of the 2-hour requirement.
Florida Chapter 10 Rules: This 1-hour course describes the rules, penalties, and fines as they pertain to Chapter 10 Code of Miami-Dade County. This course also explains the certification procedures and requirements for electrical contractors.
Florida Statute 713 Liens: This 1-hour course will explain how lien laws protect the rights and interests of both the builder and the consumer. As well as understanding that both owner and contractor have time limitations for filing and preserving lien documents and lien rights.