Residential Builders in the state of Michigan are required to complete a required amount of continued education before their May 31st deadline every three years. If contractors have been licensed for less than 6 years, they are required to complete 21 hours of approved continuing education for each of the first two 3-year licensing cycles. If contractors have had their license more than six years, they are only required to complete a 3-hour Code/Law/Safety course to renew.
What happens after I complete my continued education?
The State of Michigan will send you a renewal notice which should arrive on or near March 31st. On the renewal notice will be a box to check and a place to sign confirming that you have completed the required continuing competency. You do not need to send the certificate in to the State. In the past, the state audited 17% of the builders in Michigan. If you are audited, you will then need to send a copy of the certificate to the state.
Who offers approved continued education?
Builders License Training Institute offers Michigan approved 3-hour Code, Law and Safety course in two forms, classroom or online. Recently partnering with Menards®, we now offer this course in 18 locations throughout Michigan.
Menards® will be hosting this class in the following Michigan locations:
Click on the city nearest you to sign up!
For contractors who are unable to make it to one of our locations we also offer the Michigan 3-hour Code, Law, and Safety course online.