How do I get a California pesticide applicator license?

Agricultural Pest Control Advisor (PCA) –

  • Step 1 – Complete the application package
  • Step 2 – Pass the Laws, Regulations, and Basic Principles examination with at least 70%. The exam will cost $50. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course
  • Step 3 – Pay the $80 license fee

Qualified Applicator Certification –

  • Step 1 – Complete the application package
  • Step 2 – Pass the Laws, Regulations, and Basic Principles examination with at least 70%. The exam will cost $50. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course
  • Step 3 – Pay the $40 license fee

What classification of pesticide applicator licensing does California have?

The California Plant Board recognizes the following classification of applicator licensing:

  • Agricultural Pest Control Advisor – An individual who offers a recommendation on pesticide application.
  • Qualified Applicator Certification - An individual who supervises the application of restricted use materials or if you own a business that gardens and performs pest control.
  • Pest Control Aircraft Pilot Certificate Licensing – Individuals who apply pesticides by aircraft.
  • Noncommercial Applicators – Firms, persons, or government agencies who apply or oversee the application of restricted use pesticides and do not qualify as private applicators.

What are the categories and subcategories for California pesticide licensing?

The State of California currently has 10 categories and subcategories for pesticide licensing. Applicators holding a commercial license will need to pass the core exam along with at least one of these specialties.

Agricultural Pest Control Advisor
A Insects, Mites, and Other Invertebrates
B Plant Pathogens
C Nematodes
D Vertebrate Pests
E Weed Control
F Defoliation
G Plant Growth Regulators
Qualified Applicator Certification
A Residential, Industrial, and Institutional
B Landscape Maintenance
C Right-of-Way
D Plant Agriculture
E Forest
F Aquatic
G Regulatory
H Seed Treatment
I Animal Agriculture
J Demonstration and Research
K Health Related
L Wood Preservative
M Antifouling Tributyltin
N Sewer Line Root Control
O Field Fumigation
P Microbial Pest Control
Q Maintenance Gardener

Do I need to complete continuing education to renew my California pesticide applicator license?

Requirements for PCA, QAL, and QAC

The table below shows the amount of continuing education needed to renew your license based on the number of months between issuance and expiration. Individuals who become licensed within 12 months of expiration do not have to complete continuing education.

Licensed 12- 20 Months

PCA - 20 Hours including 2 Hours of Law
QAL - 10 Hours including 2 Hours of Law
QAC - 10 Hours including 2 Hours of Law

Licensed 12- 20 Months

PCA - 40 Hours including 4 Hours of Law
QAL - 20 Hours including 4 Hours of Law
QAC - 20 Hours including 4 Hours of Law

QAL and QAC licensees that ONLY hold category H, M, N, or Q need to complete the following continuing education rather than the amount listed above:

Licensed 12- 20 Months

H - 2 Hours including 1 Hour of Law
M - 4 Hours including 1 Hour of Law
N - 4 Hours including 1 Hour of Law
P - 4 Hours including 1 Hour of Law

Licensed 21- 24 Months

H - 4 Hours including 2 Hour of Law
M - 8 Hours including 2 Hour of Law
N - 8 Hours including 2 Hour of Law
P - 8 Hours including 2 Hour of Law

Are your California pesticide applicator courses state-approved?

Yes, all of our courses are state approved.

Who submits my continuing education to the state?

Applicators must submit their own continuing education to California. Printable certificates will be available immediately after completing courses.

This is my first time renewing my California pesticide applicator license, how many hours of continuing education do I need?

If you have been licensed less than 12 months - no CE is required
If you have been licensed 12 to 20 months - you must complete half of your CE
If you have been licensed 21 to 24 months - you must complete all of your CE

Can I use excess Laws & Regulations continuing education to meet other CE requirements?

Yes.

What fees are associated with renewing my California pesticide applicator license?

Agricultural Pest Control Adviser License

  • New Application - $80
  • Fee Per Examination - $50
  • Renewal Fee - $140
  • Late Renewal Fee - $70

Pest Control Aircraft Pilot

  • New Application - $60
  • Fee Per Examination - $50
  • Renewal Fee - $90
  • Late Renewal Fee - $45

Pest Control Dealer Designated Agent License

  • New Application - $25
  • Fee Per Examination - $50
  • Renewal Fee - $120
  • Late Renewal Fee - $60

Qualified Applicator License

  • New Application - $80
  • Fee Per Examination - $50
  • Renewal Fee - $120
  • Late Renewal Fee - $60

Qualified Applicator Certificate

  • New Application - $40
  • Fee Per Examination - $50
  • Renewal Fee - $60
  • Late Renewal Fee - $30

My California pesticide applicator license expired, can I still renew?

You may renew your license for up to 12 months after expiration by paying a late fee. If you do not renew your license within 6 months you must retake the Laws and Regulations exam along with all appropriate category exams.

Share