STATE REQUIREMENTS

Do I need continuing education credits to maintain my Texas pesticide applicators license?
The amount of continuing education and fees required to renew your Texas pesticide applicator license varies depending on the license you hold.

Private Applicators
$60 State Fee
5 Year Renewal Cycle
15 credits of CE including:

  • 2 credits of Laws & Regulations
  • 2 credits of Integrated Pest Management

Agricultural Commercial
$180 State Fee
Annual Renewal Cycle
5 Credits of CE including:

  • 1 credit of Laws & Regulations
  • 1 credit of Integrated Pest Management OR Drift Minimization

Agricultural Noncommercial
$120 State Fee
Annual Renewal Cycle
5 credits including:

  • 1 credit of Laws & Regulations
  • 1 credit of Integrated Pest Management OR Drift Minimization

Agricultural Noncommercial Political Subdivision
$12 State Fee
Annual Renewal Cycle
5 credits of CE including:

  • 1 credit of Laws & Regulations
  • 1 credit of Integrated Pest Management OR Drift Minimization

TEXAS PESTICIDE APPLICATOR FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Are your courses state approved?

Yes! All of our courses are state approved. Approval numbers are listed after the course title.

Who submits my continuing education to the state?

Upon completion of your course(s), Certified Training Institute will submit your continuing education courses to the state for you.

How do I renew my Texas pesticide applicator license?
The Texas Department of Agriculture will send a renewal notice approximately 45 days before your expiration. You will need the username and password from this notice to renew your license. If you did not receive a renewal notice TDA will send a duplicate. Call 877-542-2474 or email license.inquiry@texasagriculture.gov
  1. Complete your state required continuing education – Texas applicator courses
  2. Log in to the TDA renewal system to pay the appropriate fees and renew your license.
What happens if I miss my Texas pesticide applicator renewal?

Applicators who fail to renew their license by their expiration date will incur a late fee.

  • 90 days or less – Licenses that are overdue 90 days or less will incur a 50% late fee.
  • 90 days or more – Licenses that are overdue 100 days or more will incur a late fee of 100% the renewal fee.
What classifications of applicator's licensing does Texas have?

The Texas Department of Agriculture recognizes the following classification of applicator licensing:

  • Agricultural Private Applicator – Individuals who use or supervise the use of restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides for agricultural commodities on property owned or rented by the individual or the individual’s employer without compensation.
  • Agricultural Commercial Applicator – Individuals who operate a business or are employed by a business that applies restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides to the property of others for hire.
  • Agricultural Noncommercial Applicator – Individuals who are licensed but do not qualify as commercial applicators.
  • Agricultural Noncommercial Political Subdivision – Individuals employed by political subdivisions of Texas or a federal agency that operates in Texas.
What are the categories and subcategories for Texas pesticide licensing?

The State of Texas currently has 22 categories and subcategories for pesticide licensing. Applicators holding a commercial license will need to pass the core exam along with at least one of these specialties. Click here for a description of each classification.

(1) Agricultural Pest Control
(1A) Field Crop Pest Control
(1B) Fruit, Nut and Vegetable Pest Control
(1C) Pasture and Rangeland
(1D) Vertebrate Pest Control
(1E) Farm Commodity Pest Control
(1F) Animal Health
(1G) Citrus Pest Control
(1H) Livestock Protection Collar
(1I) M-44
(2) Forest Pest Control
(3)Lawn and Ornamental Pest Control
(3A) Landscape Maintenance
(3B) Nursery Plant Production
(4) Seed Treatments
(5) Vegetation Management
(6) Aquatic Pest Control
(7) Demonstration and Research
(8) Regulatory Pest Control
(9)Aerial Application
(11) Soil Fumigation
(12) Public Health Pest Control

Does the State of Texas offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes! Texas offers reciprocity with Arkansas, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, and Oklahoma. To apply, nonresident applicators should contact their state department and request that their test scores are faxed to TDA (888) 216-9865.  Then the applicator needs to complete an Application for commercial Pesticide License or an Application for Noncommercial Applicator license and turn it into to TDA with a fee.  Next, the Applicator will need to pass TD’s general standards exams.

How do I get my Texas pesticide applicator's license?

Agricultural Private Applicator –

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 – Attend a Private Applicator training session
  • Step 3 – Obtain a hard copy of the Private Pesticide Applicator license application form.
  • Step 4 - Submit completed Private Pesticide Applicator form, a $100 fee, and the white copy of the Training Verification form to the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA).
  • Step 5 -The TDA will send the applicant a letter with their account number. Use this account number to register with PSI for the $65 exam. 800-733-9267. You must score 70% or more on the exam to pass.
  • Step 6 – PSI will send your exam scores to TDA daily. TDA will issue a license.

Agricultural Commercial Applicator –

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 – Complete exam prep
  • Step 3 – Complete an application for a Commercial Applicator or Noncommercial Applicator and submit a license fee to TDA
    • Commercial Applicator Fee - $200/year
  • Step 4 – Submit the completed applicator license and fee to TDA
  • Step 5 – The TDA will send the applicant a letter with their account number. Use this account number to register with PSI for the $65 exam. 800-733-9267. You must score 70% or more on the exam to pass.
  • Step 6 – PSI will send your exam scores to TDA daily. TDA will issue a license.

Agricultural Noncommercial Applicator–

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 - Complete exam prep
  • Step 3 – Complete an application for a Commercial Applicator or Noncommercial Applicator and submit a license fee to TDA
    • Noncommercial Applicator Fee - $140/year
    • Noncommercial Political Applicator - $75/year
  • Step 4 – Submit the completed applicator license and fee to TDA
  • Step 5 – The TDA will send the applicant a letter with their account number. Use this account number to register with PSI for the $65 exam. 800-733-9267. You must score 70% or more on the exam to pass.
  • Step 6 – PSI will send your exam scores to TDA daily. TDA will issue a license.

Agricultural Noncommercial Political Subdivision –

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 - Complete exam prep
  • Step 3 – Complete an application for a Commercial Applicator or Noncommercial Applicator and submit a license fee to TDA
    • Noncommercial Applicator Fee - $140/year
    • Noncommercial Political Applicator - $75/year
  • Step 4 – Submit the completed applicator license and fee to TDA
  • Step 5 – The TDA will send the applicant a letter with their account number. Use this account number to register with PSI for the $65 exam. 800-733-9267. You must score 70% or more on the exam to pass.
  • Step 6 – PSI will send your exam scores to TDA daily. TDA will issue a license.
Share