Alaska state law requires all General contractors to be licensed. Anyone who performs mostly commercial work and residential remodel work of less than 25% of the value of the structure must have a General Contractor without Residential Contractor Endorsement (which doesn’t require an exam). However, anyone who performs new home construction, commercial work, and residential remodel work of more than 25% of the value of the home or structure being altered is required to have a General Contractor License with Residential Contractor Endorsement.
When Does My Alaska Contractor License Renew?
Contractors have a biennial license renewal of December 31st of even numbered years. 16 hours of continued education are required each renewal cycle. An applicant for renewal of a residential contractor endorsement for the first time will need to document 8 hours of acceptable continued education. Renewal of Endorsement will coincide with the renewal of the General Contractor registration.
Who Offers Approved Online Continued Education?
Builders License Training Institute offers several online continued education courses. Each course is 8-hours so contractors can mix and match to create a package to suite their learning preferences.
Top 3 Continued Education Courses:
- Drones in Construction and Successful Site Design: This eight-hour course combines Drone Technology with Successful Site Design. Learn the proper and practical use of Drone Technology as well as the basics of aerial survey and mapping. You will also learn to develop a building program, including site selection, utilization, and way finding.
- Manage Your Way to Big Profits: This eight-hour course will help prepare the learner for the scope of responsibilities that a professional construction project manager must be prepared to perform.
- Contracts, Liabilities & Risk Management: This eight-hour video course explains the principles of contract law and the important elements of a home building and remodeling contract.
It is important to always stay on top of your architect license renewal requirements so there are never any problems or delays causing your license to lapse. Failure to renew your license will automatically cause your license to expire and be voided.
In 20216 there are 11 States that require license renewals. Listed below are the names of the states, the renewal deadline, and the required continuing education.
Alabama architects need 12 hours of Health Safety, and Welfare (HSW) approved continued education (CE) every year January 1st through December 31st.
Arkansas licensed architects must complete 12 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics every year by July 31st.
Illinois licensed architects must complete 24 hours of CE every 2 year licensing period by November 30th of even years.
Louisiana licensed architects must complete 12 hours of CE based on approved HSW topics by December 31st each year.
Massachusetts licensed architects must complete 12 hours of continued education annually. 8 of those hours must be approved Health, Safety, and Welfare topics.
Missouri architects must complete 24 hours of CE by October through December every other year depending on when licensed. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics.
Nebraska licensed architects must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses biennially. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics. Those with last names beginning with letters L through Z expire on December 31, 2016.
Nevada architects must complete 8 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics every year by December 31st.
Oregon architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics. Registrations that end in an even number must be renewed by December 31st of each even numbered year.
Wisconsin architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses by July 31st of even years. 16 of those hours must be on approved HSW topics.
Wyoming architects must complete 24 hours continued education courses based on approved HSW topics. Licenses expire on December 31st of the year following the year of issued.
AIA members are required to complete 18 hours of AIA approved continued education annually, with a minimum of 12 of those hours in Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW). This requirement was changed in late 2013 after the AIA found that Sustainable Design (SD) education fell in the HSW category.
Certified contractor licenses are statewide and allow you to work as a contractor anywhere in Florida. Certified contractors renew their license by August 31 each even-numbered year. Registered contractor licenses are limited to certain local jurisdictions and only allow you to work in the cities or counties where you hold a certificate of competency. Registered contractors renew their license by August 31 each odd-numbered year.
How much continuing education do I need to renew my Florida Contractors license?
All Registered Contractors and Certified Contractors are required to complete fourteen (14) hours of continuing education each renewal cycle. Of the fourteen hours, one hour is required in each of the following topics:
- Specialized or Advanced Module that is approved by the Florida Building Commission
- Workplace Safety
- Business Practices
- Worker’s Compensation
- Laws and Rules Regulating the Construction Industry
- Wind Mitigation Methodologies (if license is held in the following category: General, Building, Residential, Roofing, Specialty Structure, or Glass & Glazing.
The remaining hours may include any of the above topics or general topics in the industry.
Where can I go to complete my continuing education?
Students can get all their required continuing education completed online. The Builders License Training Institute offers many 14-hour course packages and individual courses that designed specifically for Florida contractors.
“Your Florida 14-Hour narrated courses are excellent! I learned a lot and enjoyed the course. You make it easy for those of us who are not computer savvy.”
Florida State Law requires that all construction contractor applicants to establish that they are both financially responsible and financially stable prior to issuance of their licenses. Contractors must maintain a financial stability while licensed. Builders License Training Institute also has two courses that meet the Florida “financial responsibilities” requirement.
- 7-Hour Florida Financial Responsibilities: Effective Business Strategies – #0610623
- 7-Hour Florida Online Contracts, Liability and Risk Management – #0610130
The Builders Licnese Training Institute hopes that you found our blog full of helpful information on your Florida Contractors License renewal. Be sure to check out our social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn for more articles.
The State of Michigan released a new 2015 Residential Code Book in December of 2015. There are quite a number of new changes to the building code for the State of Michigan, both big and small. Now you can get updated on the new Michigan Residential Codes and complete your residential builders license continuing competency at the same time.
How many hours of Continued Competency do you need?
If you’ve been licensed as a Michigan Residential Builder or a Maintenance and Alteration (M&A) Contractor for six years or more, you only need to take a 3-Hour Code-Law-Safety course to renew your license by May 31st, 2017.
If you’ve been licensed less than six years, you must complete 21 hours of continuing competency by your third year anniversary and another 21 hours by your sixth year anniversary, with a minimum of 3 hours per year. The License renewal deadline for most Michigan builders and contractors is May 31, 2017, but there are a few that renew in 2016. Be sure to check you actual license for your renewal date.
The three hour update course is in full HD Video with no tests and includes three 50-minute segments:
- 2015 Michigan Residential Code Changes
- How to Write a Binding Contract
- MIOSHA Regulation Updates
There are also specific regulations that must be met with the 21-Hours of builder’s continuing education for those builders that have been licensed less than six years. For example, a minimum of three hours must be taken per year and the 21 hours must include at least one hour of code, one hour of law, and one hour of safety.
The Builders License Training Institute has taken the worry out of completing the education, while combining it with making sure builders are up to date. This reputable school has also created packages that contain courses and the new 2015 Residential Code Book, allowing builders to save money, as well as time.
For the best new way to complete your education requirements, visit www.licensetobuild.com or give our friendly staff a call at: 1-800-727-7104