Michigan Plumbers, It’s Not Too Late!

You can STILL do your 5-Hour Code Update course ONLINE in VIDEO!
If you've missed the April 20, 2018 deadline, you can still complete your training online and receive a certificate of completion. You are not required to submit your certificates of completion to the State but you will need to have proof of completion on hand in case of an audit.

If you are audited, you'll fare better having completed your code update course a few days late than if you'd never completed the training at all. 

What happens if I don't complete the 5-Hour Code Update and I'm audited?

The state of Michigan will suspend and/or revoke your license if you are audited and you have not completed your code update.


Plumbing Code Update Requirements

Michigan plumbers must complete a 5-hour code update course by April 20, 2018If you've missed the deadline you can still complete your training. The course must correspond with the 2015 Michigan Plumbing Code Rules set forth by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs on April 20, 2017.

What is included in the Michigan plumbing code update course?

The Michigan plumbing code will cover code changes pertaining to both commercial and residential plumbers.

Where do I find a Michigan Plumbing Code Update Course?

Plumbers Training Institute offers an online, Michigan approved 5-hour Code Update course. This course is available 24/7 at your convenience for 6 months after the date of purchase.

Who submits my 5-hour code update certificate of completion to the state?

The state of Michigan does not require certificates be submitted unless you are audited. Plumbers Training Institute provides printable certificates immediately after course completion.

I have plumbing licensing questions, who should I call?

Call LARA at 517-241-9316

Share

Updated Journeyman Exam Prep – Online in HD Video

New Plumber Course: Updated 2018 Michigan Journeyman Plumber Exam Prep in HD Video

This course will review plumbing laws and regulations, general concepts of venting and drainage, and some specific code items. There will also be valuable hands-on exercises and a review of construction math. Not only will you be prepared to take the state exam, but you will also leave with tools to use in the field, helping you to be more efficient in what you do. Specifically, this course will cover the 2015 Michigan Plumbing Code, Skilled Trades Act PA 407, and Public Act 230 of 1972. The course will provide test-taking tricks on how to navigate the code book quickly and efficiently.

Steps to Obtaining a Michigan Journeyman Plumber License

  1. Have at least 6,000 hours of experience gained over no less than 3 years as a registered apprentice in the practical installation of plumbing.
  2. Complete a $100 Application for Journey Plumber Examination – More information found here.
    Once your application is approved a third party testing agency (PSI) will contact you with instructions to schedule your exam. Exam fees must be paid to PSI when scheduling the exam.
  3. Pass the $100 exam
  4. Pay the $40 Journeyman plumber license fee
Share