Michigan pest control professionals, including private and commercial pesticide applicators, can now complete their required continuing education training using online video courses. The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has approved 10 new online video continuing education courses produced by Certified Training Institute in partnership with Mississippi State University.
These courses are based on the National Pesticide Core Standards and are approved for core credits in Michigan as well as many other states. The on-screen instructor for these courses is Gene Merkl. Gene is a licensed landscape architect, former nursery owner, and is currently the Pesticide Education Coordinator for MSU (Mississippi State University) Extension service. Using real life examples, Gene walks students through each topic making sure to cover exactly what you need to know as working professionals.
Online video pesticide courses approved by Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development:
Pesticide Application Procedures
Pesticides in the Environment
Federal Pesticide Laws
Pesticide Hazards and First Aid
Planning the Pesticide Application
Personal Protective Equipment and Emergency Response
Transportation, Storage, Security, and Professional Conduct
These online video courses are meant to set a higher standard for online education in the pesticide industry. These are the same great courses that you would normally have to travel to a classroom to attend, but now they are much more convenient. With these new online video courses, applicators can complete their training on their schedule from the comfort of home. These courses can be taken using any internet connected device, including phones, tablets or computers, and your certificate is available immediately upon course completion.
These training courses are available 24/7 and can be taken at your convenience. The do not have to be completed in a single sitting, and you may come and go as you please.
To register and start you pest control continuing education courses simply click this link (Online Pesticide CE Courses) or call 1-800-727-7104 and one of our personal course advisors can walk you through getting set up.
In 1999, the state of Michigan amended the law (PA 230 of 1972) to require all jurisdictions in the state to use the currently adopted version of the state construction code. The current version of the Michigan Residential Code is the 2015 version, which took effect on February 8th, 2016.
In 2008, the state of Michigan amended the builders licensing laws (PA 299 of 1980) to require ALL individuals who possess a Michigan Residential Builders License to have a current copy of the Michigan Residential Code book in order to their renew their license.
How Often is the Code Book Updated?
The Michigan Bureau of Construction Code (BCC) is required to update the Michigan Residential Code at least every 6 years. In the past, the BCC updated the code every 3 years, but this time around they chose to update the code on a 6-year cycle. The Michigan residential construction industry will not know when the next Residential Code will be adopted until the BCC announces that a new version of the code will be published. The soonest a new version is published will be in 2019 and the latest could be 2022. The state of Michigan requires by law that individuals wanting to renew their residential builders license own a current code book. For the 2017 license renewal cycle, the 2015 Michigan Residential Code is required.
It is known that the 2015 Michigan Residential Code has some errors in the book. The Michigan Bureau of Constriction Codes (BCC) has acknowledged the errors and has published some corrections on it’s website. The BCC has stated it will continue to post corrections on its website when they become aware of the errors. The BCC has also stated it will not publish a revised version of the 2015 Michigan Residential Code book. The 2015 Michigan Residential Code book is the only version currently available for the 2017 license renewal cycle.
The International Code Council (ICC) is the Copyright holder and the publisher of the International Residential Code (IRC) which the 2015 Michigan Residential Code adopts. The ICC will only allow the Michigan Bureau of Constriction Codes to revise the 2015 Michigan Residential Code because of the Copyrighted material that is adopted. No bookstore can revise ICC copyrighted materials and publish their own version of the books.
The Builders License Training Institute, a division of Certified Training Institute, is a proprietary school and bookstore offering online and classroom Michigan Builders 60-Hour Prelicensure Programs, continuing competency courses, lead paint safety RRP classes and Michigan Code Official continuing education.
The State of Michigan released a new 2015 Residential Code Book in December of 2015. There are quite a number of new changes to the building code for the State of Michigan, both big and small. Now you can get updated on the new Michigan Residential Codes and complete your residential builders license continuing competency at the same time.
How many hours of Continued Competency do you need?
If you’ve been licensed as a Michigan Residential Builder or a Maintenance and Alteration (M&A) Contractor for six years or more, you only need to take a 3-Hour Code-Law-Safety course to renew your license by May 31st, 2017.
If you’ve been licensed less than six years, you must complete 21 hours of continuing competency by your third year anniversary and another 21 hours by your sixth year anniversary, with a minimum of 3 hours per year. The License renewal deadline for most Michigan builders and contractors is May 31, 2017, but there are a few that renew in 2016. Be sure to check you actual license for your renewal date.
The three hour update course is in full HD Video with no tests and includes three 50-minute segments:
- 2015 Michigan Residential Code Changes
- How to Write a Binding Contract
- MIOSHA Regulation Updates
There are also specific regulations that must be met with the 21-Hours of builder’s continuing education for those builders that have been licensed less than six years. For example, a minimum of three hours must be taken per year and the 21 hours must include at least one hour of code, one hour of law, and one hour of safety.
The Builders License Training Institute has taken the worry out of completing the education, while combining it with making sure builders are up to date. This reputable school has also created packages that contain courses and the new 2015 Residential Code Book, allowing builders to save money, as well as time.
For the best new way to complete your education requirements, visit www.licensetobuild.com or give our friendly staff a call at: 1-800-727-7104