Nevada NASCLA (Commercial) General Contractor License

How do I get a NASCLA (Commercial) General Contractor license in Nevada?

When you pass the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, you will be listed in the NASCLA National Examination Database. You will then have this information available for the following states which accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination: AL, AR, GA, LA, MS, NV, NC, OR, SC, TN, UT, US Virgin Islands, VA, and WV. You may also need to take each states’ specific business/law/project management exam in addition to the NASCLA exam.

Do I need prior approval to sit for the NASCLA exam?

Yes. This program requires pre-approval before sitting for the exam. An application must be filed with and approved by NASCLA. Once the application is approved, NASCLA will forward the information to PSI who will send a confirmation for exam registration. To apply to take the exam visit: or contact them by phone at (623) 587-9354.

How long can I wait to take the exam after getting approval?

Candidates will have one (1) year from the application approval date to take the exam.

Do I need to pass a separate Business and Law or Trades Examination?

Yes, there are separate Business and Law (Construction Management Survey) and Trade exams.  Even if you take the NASCLA-Accredited exam, you DO have to take a separate Business and Law (Construction Management Survey) and Trade Exam for Nevada.

Where can I find a NASCLA Exam Prep course?

Certified Training Institute offers an online narrated course that has been approved by the State of Nevada to get your NASCLA license. This course can be completed online at your convenience and on any device that is connected to the internet. We also have a dedicated staff to answer your questions and help with tech support. Visit our website at



NASCLA (Commercial) General Contractor Exam Prep Course



New Rules for the NASCLA Accredited Exam

contractor carpenter man on USA flag building America concept patriotism

Effective November 1, 2016, commercial general building contractors applying for NASCLA accreditation will need to be pre-approved by the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) before scheduling to take the NASCLA-Accredited exam.  Applicants will no longer be able to schedule the exam without pre-approval. Applicants can apply electronically ONLINE at

Once an individual is approved, the individual’s name will be forwarded from NASCLA to PSI. PSI will then send the applicant an email confirmation with information to register to take the examination.

What is NASCLA Accreditation?

The NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors is an exam given by the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies that allows contractors to take one trade exam that qualifies in multiple jurisdictions or states.  This exam may not eliminate the Business and Law exam in each state, just the trades so be sure to check with each State agency to see if you still need to sit for the Business/Law exam.  Please note that this is NOT a National License.  It only eliminates the Trade Exam in participating state agencies.

Why did NASCLA make this change?

The purpose for this change to the NASCLA Accreditation procedure is to create a database to store applicant examination information for candidates, allowing jurisdictions to verify that an applicant has passed the NASCLA Accredited Examination.  Through the database, candidates are able to simultaneously apply to sit for the exam AND purchase (and send) a passed transcript to the state agencies that accept these examination.

What States Accept the NASCLA Accreditation?

There are currently 15 state agencies that accept the NASCLA Accreditation exam, so you if you are commercial building in more than one of the following, it would reduce your studying time for the commercial general contractor licensing exam by taking just one trade test.  For an up-to-date list, check the NASCLA website.

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Georgia
  4. Louisiana
  5. Mississippi
  6. Nevada
  7. North Carolina
  8. Oregon
  9. South Carolina Contractors
  10. South Carolina Residential Builders
  11. Tennessee
  12. Utah
  13. Virgin Islands
  14. Virginia
  15. West Virginia

Be sure to check with each State Agency to see the specific rules for NASCLA and how they apply to that jurisdiction.  Contact information can be found on