Posted on

Updated Oregon Contractor Pre-license Training and Testing Information

Oregon Contracts License Information

The first steps in obtaining a Oregon Building Contractor license through the Construction Contractor Board (CCB) are as follows:

  1. complete at least 16 hours of CCB Approved pre-license training based on law and business practices
  2. pass the Oregon building contractor’s State test. 

For a full list of steps to getting your Oregon Building Contractor license check this link

The person who takes the pre-license training and passes the Oregon contractor license test must be an owner or employee of the business and is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) for the construction contractor license and all construction activities.

Oregon Building Contractor License Information

 

The State of Oregon has released the 11th edition of the Oregon Contractor Reference Manual, however, the state contractor license test will not be fully changed over to the 11th edition until April 7th.  A “manual-neutral” licensing exam will be used until April 7th, but after that date, there will be some questions on the exam that can only be found in the 11th edition of the Oregon Contractors Reference Manual.

 

The licensing test is two hours and you can use the manual.  You cannot take loose paper into the testing facility, but you can make notes directly in your reference manual.  There are 80 multiple choice questions on Oregon business practices and law and you must get a 70 percent to pass.  The cost of the test is $85.  If you are a Veteran, you may be eligible for reimbursement through the GI Bill.  Go to www.gibill.va.gov for details.

 

Most CCB approved course providers include information on the testing process once you complete the course, as well as what to expect at the test site. You will get your test score immediately after completing the test. Once you pass, take your Score Report, an application and the fee to the CCB office to get your license.

 

NOTE:

  • You must obtain your Oregon Contractor License within  24 months of completing the pre-license training (not the test)
  • If your CCB license is lapsed for more than 24 months, you must retake the training and the test.

 

 

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.licensetobuild.com or give the friendly staff a call

 1-800-727-7104

 

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.