Dwelling Contractors in the state of Wisconsin are required to complete 12 hours of approved education every two years to keep their certification. Contractors are not required to take all 12 hours in one course. Builders License Training Institute offers several online course options for contractors to choose from.
Wisconsin Contractor Approved Online Courses
- 280 Question Online Course: This course guides you through the UBC Codes and how to use them. Each Question directs you to a specific code number for the answer to that question. There are also three brief chapters on Lead Paint Safety, Right to Cure Laws and Asbestos Abatement.
- 120 Question Online Course: This course covers four topics: Project Management for Contractors, Construction Contracts, Site Erosion and Storm Water Management.
Who notifies me when my Wisconsin contractor’s license needs to be renewed?
Wisconsin sends a renewal notice 4-6 weeks before your renewal date (which is 3 months prior to your expiration date.)
- Cards are sent to those who have already completed their CE.
- Paper renewals are sent to those who still need to complete the required CE.
When all requirements are met, all renewals are mailed a license number and a new license expiration date.
On-Time Renewal Fees
- Dwelling Contractors (Business) $25 for 1 year
- Dwelling Contractor Qualifier (Individual) with CE completed $30 for 2 years.
- Dwelling Contractor Qualifier with CE completed renewing during 90 days preceding expiration $30 renewal + $25 late fee = $55
- Other fees apply for later renewals.