Posted on

Wyoming Architect License Continuing Education Simplified

Wyoming Architect Continuing Education, Being an Architect in Wyoming, AIA Wyoming

Licensed Wyoming Architect licenses expire on December 31st of the year following the year of issue and every two years after that.  (For example, a license issued in 2013 expires on December 31st, 2014.  It is renewed for two calendar years, so the next expiration date will be December 31st, 2016.)  The renewal notice is mailed out to licensed architects at the latest address on record approximately 60 days prior to the renewal deadline.

 

Architects in Wyoming must complete 16 hours of Professional Development Units (PDU’s) by their renewal deadline.  All sixteen hours must be in Health, Safety and Welfare (HAS) subjects and PDU’s earned in excess of 16 cannot be carried over to the next renewal cycle.  All AIA approved courses that are on HSA subjects automatically qualify.

 

You can renew online (http://plboards.state.wy.us/architecture/pdf/renewals/OnlineLicenseRenewalInstructions.pdf) up to 120 days prior to your expiration date and until midnight on your license expiration date.  The online system is available 24/7 via the web, you can pay with a credit card and the information is immediately updated on the Wyoming License Directory page.  You can also renew in paper, but you must mail the renewal with a check.

 

You may “retire” you license if you are not practicing in Wyoming.  Here are the qualifications

 

  • You have to be licensed in the State for at least ten consecutive years

     

  • You must notify the Board prior to renewal that you have not and will not be practicing in any jurisdiction.

     

  • Your license will expire and be renewable on the same two year cycle.

     

  • You must list your occupation as retired on the board-approved renewal form and certify that you are not currently practicing.

 

IMPORTANT: The Wyoming Architect Board governing statutes do not provide for the late renewal of a license. If you do not renew your license prior to the expiration date, you forfeit your license and are no longer legally eligible to provide services in the State of Wyoming.  You may re-apply within 3 years without retaking the licensure exam, but you must cease to do business until your application is approved.

 

 

For the fastest and most economical way to complete this education, visit www.architectstraininginstitute.com or give the friendly staff a call at 1-800-727-7104.

Subscribe to our Blog and Follow us on Twitter @ConEdTraining to receive periodic updates on licensing information changes and deadlines, as well as exclusive discounts.