Homemade Bed Bug Bomb Gone Wrong
Two apartments in South Carolina had to evacuate after a home attempt to exterminate bedbugs. A mixture of kerosene, a bug bomb, and other chemicals were used to irradiate the pest problem, however, fumes from this mixture were so toxic, the tenant’s apartment and the neighbor’s apartment needed to be evacuated.
The second apartment will be inhabitable within a few days but the apartment that held the concoction will need special treatment.
This cautionary tale illustrates the importance of appropriate, professional pesticide application. Professional pesticide applicators must pass a national exam before becoming licensed. After receiving a license many states require applicators complete continuing education to maintain their license. Applicator exam prep and continuing education requirements by state can be found here.
PESTICIDE APPLICATOR EXAM PREP & CONTINUING EDUCATION
New Use for Drones – SnotBot
Drones have an interesting new purpose: collecting whale snot.
Scientists know that whales are currently in danger due to overfishing, trash, and noise pollution. However, it is difficult to collect information from whales about these dangers without disturbing them. Thus, scientists and robotics companies have worked together to create a drone capable of collecting the mucus-like substance whales exhale out their blowholes, these drones have been aptly named SnotBots. The mucus or ‘whale snot’ can be used to help scientists learn about how pollution is affecting the mammals.
SnotBots hover just above whales as they surface for air, then they lower petri dishes to capture the whale’s snot spray, collecting DNA, microbiome information, and hormone levels. Before these drones were available scientists would attempt to position a long pole over the blowhole, a difficult and tedious process, or collect snot from dead whales.
These drones are particularly useful because they can analyze whale health in real time, allowing scientists to determine if a whale is sick before it descends into the ocean depths.
FAA REMOTE PILOT IN COMMAND EXAM PREP
EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW TO RENEW YOUR OHIO REAL ESTATE LICENSE
How do I renew my Ohio salesperson or broker license?
Your license must be renewed every 3 years on your date of birth. Licenses can be renewed by following these steps:
- Submit the appropriate renewal fee
- Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
- Complete and submit a renewal application – COM3681
- All paperwork must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date
What continuing education is required to renew my Ohio broker or salesperson license?
Brokers and salespeople must complete 30 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle. Courses must include:
- 3-hours of Core Law
- 3-hours of Civil Rights
- 3-hours of Ohio Canons of Ethics
- 21-hours of Elective courses
Where can I find courses to renew my Ohio broker or salesperson license?
Real Estate Training Institute offers a 30-hour package and individual courses to meet all of your renewal requirements. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device.
Who submits my Ohio broker or salesperson continuing education?
Ohio requires brokers, salespeople, and education providers to submit continuing education. Real Estate Training Institute will submit your continuing education Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing within two business days of course completion, you may print your certificates at home immediately after completing the course.
Ohio Real Estate Continuing Education
New Jersey Architect Complete Renewal Package
How do I renew my New Jersey architect license?
New Jersey architects must renew their licenses on July 31st of odd years. Architects must complete 24 credit hours of continuing education each renewal cycle. Licensees will receive a notification from the board 60 days before their license expires, once the required continuing education is completed you must return your notification and a fee of $160 to the Board.
Where do I find courses to renew my New Jersey architect license?
Architects Training Institute offers New Jersey approved continuing education courses to fulfill all state renewal requirements. The 24-hour package meets all requirements for one year, this package also meets all requirements for AIA renewal. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device.
Who submits my continuing education to New Jersey?
Architects Training Institute submits continuing education the AIA. Architects are required to submit their own continuing education to the state. You will be able to print a continuing education certificate immediately after completing your course.
What happens if I do not renew my New Jersey architect license on time?
Licenses can be renewed for 30 days after expiration. Once 30 days have passed licenses are automatically suspended.
- Licenses expired less than 30 days – pay a $50 late fee in addition to the $160 fee.
- Licenses expired 30 days to 5 years – pay a $100 late fee in addition to the $160 fee.
- Licenses expired more than 5 years – must reapply for licensure.
New Jersey Architect Continuing Education
GEORGIA CONTRACTORS RENEWAL DEADLINE: JUNE 30, 2017
Georgia Contractor Renewal Steps
- Complete the appropriate continuing education
Residential Basic Individual Builders 3 credit hours Residential Basic Qualifying Agents 3 credit hours Residential Light Commercial Individual 6 credit hours Residential Light Qualifying Agents 6 credit hours
NOTE: Georgia contracts can only complete 50% of their continuing education courses online.
- Submit your continuing education certificates to the Georgia Bureau of Professional Licensing
- Renew your license by paying a $100 fee and logging on to the Bureau website.
Where can I find courses to renew my Georgia contractors license?
Builders License Training Institute offers online continuing education to meet half of your state requirements. Courses can be viewed 24 hours a day 7 days a week on any internet capable device.
What happens if I do not complete the state-required continuing education?
If you fail to complete your continuing education by June 30th your license will not be renewed and the Bureau may take additional disciplinary measures.
Massachusetts Construction Supervisor Renewal Guide
How do I renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Unrestricted, restricted, and specialty construction supervisors are required contractors to:
- Complete the required continuing education (see table below)
- Request a renewal application from DPS here. (check your spam folders for a message titled “Renewal Notice Enclosed”. Allow 3 days to receive the form.
- Complete and mail the renewal application with a $100 fee, allow 5 weeks for processing
Renew your license online with a $100 fee.
What continuing education do I need to renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Massachusetts construction supervisors must complete varying continuing education depending on their license type.
|Unrestricted Construction Supervisors||12 hours of continuing education|
|Restricted Construction Supervisors||10 hours of continuing education|
|Specialty Construction Supervisors||6 hours of continuing education per category*|
*Specialty construction supervisors have a maximum of 12 hours of continuing education, even if you are licensed in all 6 categories you must complete 12 hours of continuing education.
Where do I find courses to renew my Massachusetts construction supervisor license?
Builders License Training Institute offers Massachusetts approved continuing education. Courses are completed online, at your convenience, on any internet capable device. You may purchase courses at any point in your licensing cycle and have access to them until your expiration date or six months from purchase, whichever is longer.
I missed the renewal date for my Massachusetts construction supervisor license, what do I do?
You may not legally work until you have renewed your license. Licenses can be renewed for up to two years after expiration.
- Expired less than 2 years – You may renew your license by paying an additional $100 fee, meaning late renewals cost $200.
- Expired more than 2 years – You must retake the exam and apply for a new license. [hr]
Massachusetts Construction Supervisor Continuing Education
West Virginia To Begin Invasive Pest Surveys
The West Virginia Department of Agriculture is conducting a statewide survey for new invasive pests. The department is hoping to detect specific non-native plant pests, as well as, diseases and weeds that are threatening to farmlands and forests.
The survey will be conducted by placing traps on several varieties of trees and vegetables such as corn, peppers, tomatoes, and potatoes.
Previous surveys in West Virginia found 23 instances of the Spotted Wing Drosophila, an invasive species that is harmful to fruit. The infamous emerald ash borer is another example of an invasive species in Maryland. The emerald ash borer is originally from Northeastern Asia. Females lay eggs in the bark crevices of oak trees, the larvae feed under the bark for two years and emerge as adults. The emerald ash borer has destroyed much of the ash population in West Virginia.
The emerald ash borer was not detected until nearly 10 years after its suspected introduction the United States via shipping container. Earlier detection would have allowed applicators to address the pests before they became a nationwide infestation. Thus, surveys conducted by the West Virginia Department of Agriculture may help the Department avoid repeating the same mistakes.[hr]
DO YOU NEED TO RENEW YOUR MARYLAND PESTICIDE APPLICATOR LICENSE?
- Complete the appropriate continuing education – Maryland approved courses are available here.
- Log on to the Maryland Department of Agriculture website with the license & permit number code.
(This information can be found on the information card you received from the department)
- Pay the $150 renewal fee
MARYLAND PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CONTINUING EDUCATION
ARKANSAS ARCHITECT RENEWAL DEADLINE: JULY 31
How do I renew my Arkansas architect license?
Arkansas architects must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education by July 31st annually. You may renew your license online or by mail. You will be charged a $100 fee.
Where do I find courses to renew my Arkansas architect license?
Architects Training Institute offers online video courses approved by Arkansas and the AIA. Architects Training Institute offers an 18-hour package to meet your Arkansas and AIA renewal requirements, a 12-hour package for nonAIA members, and individual courses. Classes are available 24/7 on any internet capable device.
Who submits my Arkansas architect continuing education?
Architects submit their own continuing education at registration time. Architects Training Institute submits your continuing education to the AIA.
What happens if I don’t renew my Arkansas architect license?
Architects who do not renew their license may not work in the state. Licenses can be renewed for 3 years past expiration by paying an additional fee and renewing online or by mail. After 3 years architects must reapply for licensure.
Arkansas Architect Renewal Courses
How to use a Drone for Real Estate
The real estate business is changing. The market is increasingly competitive and most prospective Phome buyers check online listings before contacting an agent or viewing homes in person. Drones can help your online listings leave a lasting impression on potential clients.
How do I use drones to enhance my real estate listings?
Drones are a great tool for capturing the scope of appropriate homes and properties. For example, drones can be used to provide a moving tour through the inside of large homes, giving prospective buyers a much better idea of property layout and dimensions than photos. Drones are also useful for displaying properties with magnificent views or large yards. Often drones are used to take video or pictures from high altitudes to capture a full view of the yard in relation to natural surroundings such as lakes or woods. The photo above is a particularly dramatic example of using a drone to capture the magnitude and beauty of properties.
Do I have to follow any regulations to use drones for my real estate listings?
Yes, all commercial drone pilots must possess a Remote Pilot in Command Certificate which can be obtained by passing the FAA Remote Pilot in Command Exam.
Step 1: Pay the $5 fee and register any aircraft that weighs more than 0.55lbs.
Step 2: Pass the $150 Small UAS Remote Pilot Exam – exam prep is available here.
Step 3: Pass a TSA background check
Step 4: File FAA Form 8710-13
Check out our Complete Guide to Commercial Drone Use for more information. [hr]
FAA REMOTE PILOT IN COMMAND EXAM PREP
CCB Rule Changes Lower Continuing Education Costs
The CCB is changing their submission process effective July 1, 2017. Contractors will no longer be subject to a $15 an hour up charge for CCB laws, regulations and business practices courses. Since residential contractors who are not exempt must take these courses each two-year licensing period, they will save $45 per license cycle.
Also effective July 1, 2017, schools providing continuing education no longer have to pay $4 per student hour in Series A upload fees. Builders License Training Institute is excited to pass these savings on to you by removing the $4 upload fee from each affected course starting July 1st. All Oregon contractors must complete 5 hours of Series A continuing education each two-year cycle. The removal of a submission fee will save $20 per license cycle.
RENEWING AN OREGON CONTRACTORS LICENSE
- Complete your state required continuing education.
3 hours of CCB are only available through the state.
Series A & B Courses are available online here.
- Complete the renewal form you will receive from the CCB 6-8 weeks before your license expiration or renew your license online.
REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION
|CONTRACTORS LICENSED LESS THAN 6 YEARS||CONTRACTORS LICENSED MORE THAN 6 YEARS|
|3 credit hours: CCB Laws, Regulations & Business Practices
5 credit hours: Series A
8 credit hours: Series A or B
|3 credit hours: CCB Laws, Regulations & Business Practices
5 credit hours: Series A
|16 credit hours: Total||8 credit hours: Total|