We Are Open & Here To Help!
Call Us 800-727-7104
Monday-Friday 8am-8pm EST

California DPR Continuing Education Deadline

Commercial applicators are required to renew their certificate every two years by December 31st.

Private applicators are required to renew their certification every three years.

California SPCB Continuing Education Deadline

California SPCB Applicator Continuing education is due every three years by June 10th.

Frequently Asked Questions

California General Pesticide Applicator FAQs

State Contact information for licensing questions

Phone: (916) 445-4038
Fax: (916) 445-4033
Email: LicenseMail@cdpr.ca.gov
Web: http://www.cdpr.ca.gov
For Course Approval Verification: https://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/cont_ed_cfm/classes.htm

What kind of California pesticide applicator license do I need?

QAC - (Qualified Applicator Certificate) Apply or supervise the application of federally restricted use pesticides or state restricted materials for any purpose or on any property other than that provided by the definition of a private applicator.

QAL - (Qualified Applicators License) Apply or supervise the application of federally restricted use pesticides or state restricted materials for any purpose or on any property other than that provided by the definition of a private applicator. Supervise the pesticide applications made by a licensed pest control business and are responsible for its safe and legal operation. The QAL shall include the categories of pest control activities they supervise.

How do I get a California pesticide applicator license?

Qualified Applicator Certification

  • Step 1 – Complete the application package
  • Step 2 – Pass the Laws, Regulations, and Basic Principles examination with at least 70%. The exam will cost $50. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course
  • Step 3 – Pay the $40 license fee

Qualified Applicator License

  • Step 1 - Complete the application package
  • Step 2 - Pass the Laws, Regulations and Basic Principles examination with at least 70%. The exam will cost $50. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course
  • Step 3 - Pay the $80 license fee

What fees are associated with California pesticide applicator licensing?

Fees: (QAC) Qualified Applicator Certificate

Exam Fees: $50
License Fees: $40
Renewal Fees: $120
Late Fees: $60

Fees: (QAL) Qualified Applicator License

Exam Fees: $50
License Fees: $80
Renewal Fees: $120
Late Fees: $60

What are the different pesticide applicator license categories in California?

A Residential, Industrial, and Institutional
B Landscape Maintenance
C Right-of-Way
D Plant Agriculture
E Forest
F Aquatic
G Regulatory
H Seed Treatment
I Animal Agriculture
J Demonstration and Research
K Health Related
L Wood Preservative
M Antifouling Tributyltin
N Sewer Line Root Control
O Field Fumigation
P Microbial Pest Control
Q Maintenance Gardener *

* Applicants for subcategory Q only need to take the pest control category Q examination. Laws and Regulations are included in the examination.

For further information on categories and to find a description of each, please click here.

California Pesticide Applicator Renewal FAQs

How long is my California pesticide applicator license valid?

1-2 years

When do I renew my California pesticide applicator license?

If your last name begins with A through L your license expires on December 31 of even-numbered years (e.g. 2018, 2020, 2022, etc.)

If your last name begins with M through Z your license expires on December 31 of odd numbered years (e.g. 2017, 2019, 2021, etc.)

Do I need to complete continuing education to renew my California pesticide applicator license?

You are required to accumulate at least 20 hours of approved continuing education (CE) every two years before certificate renewal. Four of the 20 hours must cover the topic of pesticide laws and regulations (3 CCR section 6511).

QAC & QAL holders who have Category M, N, P, or Q are required to complete eight hours of approved CE after their first renewal.

QAC & QAL holders who have Category H only are required to complete four hours of approved CE after their first renewal.

Two of the hours must cover pesticide laws and regulations (3 CCR section 6511).

For more information please visit: CADPR CE Requirements

Who submits my completed CEs to the state of California?

Applicators must submit their own continuing education to California. Printable certificates will be available immediately after completing courses.

Are your California pesticide applicator courses state approved?

Yes, all of our courses are state approved.

This is my first time renewing my California pesticide applicator license, how many hours of continuing education do I need?

If you have been licensed less than 12 months - no CE is required
If you have been licensed 12 to 20 months - you must complete half of your CE
If you have been licensed 21 to 24 months - you must complete all of your CE

Can I use excess Laws & Regulations continuing education to meet other CE requirements?

Yes.

How do I renew California pesticide applicator license?

You must MAIL your application, Fee and CE Course Certificates

Is there a grace period for renewing my California pesticide applicator license?

CE Must be completed by 12/31 but have 1 yr to submit renewal application.

My California pesticide applicator license expired, how do I get it reinstated?

You may renew your license for up to 12 months after expiration by paying a late fee. CE hours must be completed by December 31 of your expiration year. If you do not renew your license within 12 months you must retake the Laws and Regulations exam along with all appropriate category exams.

Does my company need a separate California applicator license?

Yes

Do all my employees need their own California pesticide applicator license?

Yes

Do I need California pesticide applicator’s license to apply general use pesticides for hire?

General use pesticides are applied according to label instructions on the individual’s own property or with permission of the property owner. Restricted use pesticides are available only to certified applicators. Restricted use includes any materials that are hazardous to public health, farm workers, domestic animals, the environment, wildlife, or crops other than those being treated.

Where can I find the renewal application?

The individual renewal packet can be found here

California Structural Pest Control FAQs

State Contact information for licensing questions

Phone: (916) 561-8700
Fax: (916) 263-2469
Email: pestboard@dca.ca.gov
Web: https://www.pestboard.ca.gov/index.shtml

What kind activities require a license?

Household pests* and wood destroying pests or organisms, or other pests that may invade households or other structures, including railroad cars, ships, docks, trucks, airplanes, or the contents thereof, the engaging in, offering to engage in, advertising for, soliciting, or the performance of, any of the following:

  • Identification of infestations or infections.
  • The making of an inspection or inspections for the purpose of identifying or attempting to identify infestations or infections of household or other structures by those pests or organisms.
  • The making of inspection reports, recommendations, estimates, and bids, whether oral or written, with respect to those infestations or infections.
  • The making of contracts, or the submitting of bids for, or the performance of any work including the making of structural repairs or replacements, or the use of pesticides, or mechanical devices for the purpose of eliminating, exterminating, controlling or preventing infestations or infections of those pests, or organisms.

*Household pests are defined as those pests other than wood destroying pests or organisms, which invade households and other structures, including, but not limited to, rodents, vermin, and insects.

What are the three branches of California structural pest control?

  • Branch 1 - The practice relating to the control of household and wood-destroying pests or organisms by fumigation with poisonous or lethal gases.
  • Branch 2 - The practice relating to the control of household pests excluding fumigation with poisonous or lethal gases.
  • Branch 3 - The practice relating to the control of wood-destroying pests or organisms by the use of insecticides or structural repairs and corrections, excluding fumigation with poisonous or lethal gases.

What kind of license do I need?

Applicator:

  • A structural pest control Applicator is any individual who is licensed by the board to apply a pesticide, rodenticide, or allied chemicals or substances for the purpose of eliminating, exterminating, controlling, or preventing infestation or infections of pests or organisms included in Branch 2 or Branch 3 on behalf of a registered company. A structural pest control Applicator shall not contract for pest control work or perform pest control work on his or her own behalf.
  • The Applicator license is the Board's entry level license. Many will begin working in the industry as an Applicator, although it is not required to hold an Applicator license before becoming licensed as a Field Representative.
  • An Applicator is licensed in Branch 2and Branch 3 and can only perform work while working for a registered structural pest control company.

Field Representative:

  • Structural pest control field representative is any individual who is licensed by the board to secure structural pest control work, identify infestations or infections, make inspections, apply pesticides, submit bids for or otherwise contract, on behalf of a registered company. A pest control field representative shall not contract for pest control work or perform pest control work on his or her own behalf.
  • A Field Representative can be licensed in Branch 1, Branch 2, and/or Branch 3and can only perform work while working for a registered structural pest control company.

Operator:

  • A structural pest control Operator is any individual who is licensed by the board to secure structural pest control work, identify infestations or infections, make inspections, submit bids for or otherwise contract, in behalf of a registered company. A pest control Operator shall not contract for pest control work or perform pest control work on his or her own behalf.
  • An Operator performs the same duties of a Field Representative except that an Operator can own and operate their own company or act as a qualifying manager for another owner.
  • An Operator can be licensed in Branch 1, Branch 2, and/or Branch 3.

California Licensed Applicator FAQs

How do I get a California Applicator's license?

Step 1 - Fill out and Submit Via Email the Examination Application

Step 2 - Complete the Live Scan/Fingerprint Process (See 1-7 Below)

  1. Locate a Live Scan site in your area.
  2. Call and verify hours, fee, and ask if an appointment is necessary.
  3. Complete the Live Scan Service form. (Pre-printed forms are available by downloading the Live Scan Form, or by calling the Board at 916-561-8704.
  4. Take the completed form and two copies to a Live Scan site.
  5. Pay the required fees directly to the site.
  6. Upon completion of the scanning process, the operator will give you back two copies of the form.
  7. Send a copy of the processed form to the Board.

Step 3 - Wait for PSI to mail or email you a Candidate Handbook with instructions for scheduling your exam.

Step 4 - Schedule and sit for exam within 6 months.

Step 5 - Exam Results will be available immediately. Passing Results will include a License Application. Failing Results will include a RE-Examination Application (to re-test)

Step 6 - Send in License Application and Fee

Step 7 - Once a license number has been issued you can start working. The physical license will be mailed in 2-4 weeks.

Is the California Applicator's licensing exam open book?

No

Who administers the California Applicator's licensing exam?

PSI

How do I schedule my California Applicator's licensing exam?

Students will receive a handbook and approval letter from PSI

What fees are associated with California Applicator licensing?

Exam Fees: $55
License Fees: $10
Renewal Fees: $10
Late Fees: $5 if within 90 days of expiration date

How long is my California Applicator's license valid?

3 years

How do I renew my California Applicator's license?

Renewal applications are sent out 2 months prior to the expiration date. Student must mail in Renewal Form--The renewal form is not available online. If you do not receive your renewal form by June 1st, contact the Board's licensing unit to request that a duplicate notice be generated.

How many hours of continuing education do I need?

A licensed applicator shall have completed 12 hours of Board approved continuing education. Applicators will be required to complete 4 hours of rules and regulations, 6 hours of pesticide application and use, and 2 hours of IPM.

Who submits my completed CEs to the state?

We do! All providers must submit a course attendance roster to the Structural Pest Control Board within five working days after every course instructed.

Is there a grace period for renewing my license?

There is a grace period of 90 days from license expiration.

Do I need a California pesticide applicator's license to apply general use pesticides for hire?

Yes. a license with the Structural Pest Control Board would be required for the control of pests within or on a structure.

California Licensed Field Representative FAQs

What requirements do I need to provide to become licensed as a California Field Representative?

Branch 1 applicants must submit proof satisfactory to the Board that he/she has had six (6) months of training and experience in the practice of fumigating with lethal gases which includes a minimum of 100 hours of training and experience in preparation, fumigation, ventilation and certification.

Branch 2 applicants must submit proof satisfactory to the Board that he/she has had a minimum of 40 hours training and experience in pesticide application, Branch 2 pest identification and biology, pesticide application equipment, pesticide hazards and safety practices, 20 hours of which are actual field work. The minimum hour requirement must include training and experience in Integrated Pest Management, and the impact of structural pest control services on water quality.

Branch 3 applicants must submit proof satisfactory to the Board that he/she has had a minimum of 100 hours of training and experience, in the practice of pesticide application, Branch 3 pest identification and biology, pesticide application equipment, pesticide hazards and safety practices, structural repairs, structural inspection procedures and report writing, 80 hours of which are actual field work. The minimum hour requirement must include training and experience in Integrated Pest Management, and the impact of structural pest control services on water quality.

How do I get licensed as a California Field Representative?

Step 1 - Fill out and Submit Via Email the Examination Application

Step 2 - Complete the Live Scan/Fingerprint Process (See 1-7 Below)

  1. Locate a Live Scan site in your area.
  2. Call and verify hours, fee, and ask if an appointment is necessary.
  3. Complete the Live Scan Service form. (Pre-printed forms are available by downloading the Live Scan Form, or by calling the Board at 916-561-8704.
  4. Take the completed form and two copies to a Live Scan site.
  5. Pay the required fees directly to the site.
  6. Upon completion of the scanning process, the operator will give you back two copies of the form.
  7. Send a copy of the processed form to the Board.

Step 3 - Wait for PSI to mail or email you a Candidate Handbook with instructions for scheduling your exam.

Step 4 - Schedule and sit for exam within 6 months.

Step 5 - Exam Results will be available immediately. Passing Results will include a License Application. Failing Results will include a RE-Examination Application (to re-test)

Step 6 - Send in License Application and Fee

Step 7 - Once a license number has been issued you can start working. The physical license will be mailed in 2-4 weeks.

Where can I find reference materials for the California Field Representative exam?

Branch 1 applicants click here.

Branch 2 applicants click here.

Branch 3 applicants click here.

Is the California Field Representative exam open book?

No

Who administers the California Field Representative exam?

PSI

How do I schedule my California Field Representative exam?

Applicants must wait for an acceptance letter from PSI

What fees are associated with California Field Representative licensing?

Exam Fees: $50 Per Branch
License Fees: $30
Renewal Fees: $30
Late Fees: $15

How do I renew my California Field Representative license?

Renewal notices are mailed approximately two months before the June 30th expiration date. Complete Renewal Notice, Include Fee’s and mail to Structural Pest Control Board.

How many hours of continuing education do I need?

California Field Representative's continuing education requirements:

  • Branch 1 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 1, and 4 hours of General
  • Branch 2 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 2, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management, 4 hours of General
  • Branch 3 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management, and 4 hours of General
  • Branches 1 & 2 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1 & 2, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 1 & 3 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 2 & 3 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 2 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 1, 2 & 3 - 24 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1, 2 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General

Who submits my completed CEs to the state of California?

We do!

How do I renew my license?

Renewal notices are mailed approximately two months before the June 30th expiration date. Complete Renewal Notice, Include Fee’s and mail to Structural Pest Control Board.

Is there a grace period for renewing my California Field Representative license?

There is a 90 day grace period for renewing your license after the expiration date.

My California Field Representative license expired, how do I get it reinstated?

You must resubmit your application, and pass the required examinations.

Does my pest control company need a separate license?

Yes

Do all of the employees of my pest control company need their own California applicators license?

Yes

Do I need a Field Representative license to apply general use pesticides for hire?

Yes. A license with the Structural Pest control Board would be required for the control of pests within or on a structure.

California Licensed Operator FAQs

What requirements do I need to provide to become licensed as a California Operator?

An applicant for the Operator's Examination must submit proof satisfactory to the Board that he/she has had experience for a period of not less than the time specified opposite the branches listed below in the employ of a registered company in the State of California in the particular branch or branches of pest control for which the applicant desires to be licensed, or the equivalent of such experience.

Branch 1: 2 Years (1 year as a Field Representative Branch 1 required)

>Branch 1: 2 Years (1 year as a Field Representative Branch 1 required)

Branch 3: 4 Years (2 years as a Field Representative Branch 3 required)

How do I get licensed as a California Operator?

Step 1 - Fill out and Submit Via Email the Examination Application

Step 2 - Complete the Live Scan/Fingerprint Process (See Below)

  1. Locate a Live Scan site in your area.
  2. Call and verify hours, fee, and ask if an appointment is necessary.
  3. Complete the Live Scan Service form. (Pre-printed forms are available by downloading the Live Scan Form, or by calling the Board at 916-561-8704.
  4. Take the completed form and two copies to a Live Scan site.
  5. Pay the required fees directly to the site.
  6. Upon completion of the scanning process, the operator will give you back two copies of the form.
  7. Send a copy of the processed form to the Board.

Step 3 - Wait for PSI to mail or email you a Candidate Handbook with instructions for scheduling your exam.

Step 4 - Schedule and sit for exam within 6 months.

Step 5 - Exam Results will be available immediately. Passing Results will include a License Application. Failing Results will include a RE-Examination Application (to re-test)

Step 6 - Once a license number has been issued you can start working. The physical license will be mailed in 2-4 weeks.

Where can I find reference materials for the California Operator's Exam?

Branch 1 applicants click here.

Branch 2 applicants click here.

Branch 3 applicants click here.

Is the California Operator's Exam open book?

No

Who administers the California Operator's Exam?

PSI

How do I schedule my California Operator's Exam?

Applicants must wait for an acceptance letter from PSI

What fees are associated with California Operator licensing?

Exam Fees: $50 Per Branch
License Fees: $120
Renewal Fees: $120
Late Fees: $30

How long is my California Operator's license valid?

3 years

How many hours of continuing education do I need?

California operators' continuing education requirements:

  • Branch 1 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 1, and 4 hours of General
  • Branch 2 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 2, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management, 4 hours of General
  • Branch 3 - 16 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branch 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management, and 4 hours of General
  • Branches 1 & 2 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1 & 2, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 1 & 3 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 2 & 3 - 20 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 2 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General
  • Branches 1, 2 & 3 - 24 hours including 8 hours of R&R, 4 hours of Technical Branches 1, 2 & 3, 2 hours of Integrated Pest Management and 2 hours of General

Who submits my completed CEs to the state of California?

We do!

How do I renew my California Operator's license?

Renewal notices are mailed approximately two months before the June 30th expiration date. Complete Renewal Notice, Include Fee’s and mail to Structural Pest Control Board.

Is there a grace period for renewing my California Operator's license?

There is a 90 day grace period for renewing your license after the expiration date.

My California Operator's license expired, how do I get it reinstated?

You must resubmit your application, and pass the required examinations.

Does my pest control company need a separate license?

Yes

Do all of the employees of my pest control company need their own California Applicator's license?

Yes

Do I need an Operator's license to apply general use pesticides for hire?

Yes. A license with the Structural Pest control Board would be required for the control of pests within or on a structure.

California Pest Control Business FAQs

How do I start a California pest control company?

Step 1 - You must be licensed by the Structural Pest Control Board (Board) as an Operator or be in the process of obtaining an Operator's license.

A registered company must have a Qualifying Manager in order to operate. Business and Profession Code, Section 8506.2 states "a 'qualifying manager' is the licensed operator or operators designated by a registered company to supervise the daily business of the company and to be available to supervise and assist the company's employees."

In order to qualify as a Qualifying Manager, you must be licensed by the Board as an Operator. The Operator's license must be in the branch or branches of pest control in which you plan to operate your business (Definitions of pest control branches). For example, if a company registration is issued in Branch 2, General Pest, the Qualifying Manager must be licensed as an Operator in Branch 2. A company may have more than one Qualifying Manager if the company is registered in more than one branch.

Step 2 - Complete the Request for Approval of Registered Company form and submit it to the Board.

Print the Request for Approval of Registered Company form, complete and mail to the Board. An Operator must be listed as the Qualifying Manager on this form or a licensee who has passed the operator exam and is in the process of becoming licensed as an Operator who will be the Qualifying Manager.

Once the Board receives this completed Request for Approval of Registered Company form, it will be reviewed and processed. A letter will then be mailed out notifying you if the company name style has been approved or denied.

If a name style is approved, a company registration packet will be sent notifying you which name style has been approved and that the name will be reserved for 60 days. If all name styles have been denied, notification will be sent along with a blank approval of registered company form.

Step 3 - Complete the application for registration of a company along with bonding and insurance forms.

Included in the company registration packet are instructions for completing the application, along with bonding and insurance requirements and necessary forms. In order for the Board to process the company registration application, each of these documents must be completed in its entirety.

Required Bond & Insurance

Insurance: The Structural Pest Control Act, Business and Professions Code, Section 8692, requires registered companies to maintain a minimum of $500,000 in general liability insurance. The insurance information must be completed by the insurance company on the insurance form provided by the Board (Certificate of Insurance). All information on the insurance certificate must be typed. The name style in which the insurance policy is issued must be exactly the same as the name style approved by the Board.

If necessary, a list may be requested from the Board regarding the most commonly used insurance companies.

Bond: The Structural Pest Control Act, Business and Professions Code, Section 8697, requires registered companies to maintain a bond executed by an admitted surety insurer in the amount of $12,500. The original bond must be submitted to the Board with the Qualifying Manager's original signature and a seal from the bonding company. If the company will have multiple Qualifying Managers, all Qualifying Managers must sign the bond.

Bond and Insurance Companies

Articles of Incorporation or Fictitious business name statement

Articles of Incorporation: Needed only for a corporation. The Articles of Incorporation must be submitted after endorsement by the Secretary of State (a copy is acceptable). If filing for DBA (Doing Business As), submit a copy of fictitious name filing from the county recorder's office along with the copy of the Articles of Incorporation.

Ficticious business name statement: Needed only for a sole proprietorship or partnership. If the name style is fictitious, you must file with the county recorder's office and submit a copy to the Board.

$120 Application Fee for Company Registration

Once the Board has received the application for registration of a company in its entirety, it will be reviewed. After the Board reviews the completed application and determines that all of the necessary forms are correct, the company will be issued a principal registration (PR) number and the company will then be allowed to do business.

Please note that the registration of a company packet cannot be downloaded from the Board's website.

Do all of my pesticide company's employees need their own Applicator's license?

Yes

Do I need an Applicator's license to apply general use pesticides for hire?

Yes. A license with the Structural Pest Control Board would be required for the control of pests within or on a structure.

Worker Protection Standard (WPS) FAQs

How does it work?

  • $159 will train your whole staff for a year (up to 25 employees)
  • Training can be completed as often as needed for up to 25 employees.
  • Employees can watch the video course individually or all at once
  • Certificates will be available for each worker at the end of the course

Who is an Agricultural Worker?

A handler is anyone who assists with applications, mixes, loads, or transfers pesticides into application equipment, cleans repairs, or maintains application equipment, works on equipment that has been used to mix, load, or apply, disposes of pesticides or materials with pesticides on them, acts as a flagger, performs tasks as a crop adviser, or applies pesticides.

Who is a Handler?

A handler is anyone who assists with applications, mixes, loads, or transfers pesticides into application equipment, cleans repairs, or maintains application equipment, works on equipment that has been used to mix, load, or apply, disposes of pesticides or materials with pesticides on them, acts as a flagger, performs tasks as a crop adviser, or applies pesticides.

Which Establishments are Required to Provide Worker Protection Standard Training?

The Worker Protection Standard (WPS) applies to all establishments involved in growing, producing, or maintaining for sale agricultural plants (including ornamental plants). This may include, but is not limited to:

  • Nurseries, garden centers, or other similar operations where plants are maintained for sale (retail or wholesale).
  • All Crop producing farms.
  • Dairy farms that produce hay for cattle.
  • Forestry Operations
  • Golf courses that produce their own sod
  • Public park operations that produce their own plants
  • Prisons that have "Prison Farms" where agricultural plants are produced and the prisoners are employed as workers or handlers.
  • The WPS also applies to any establishment operating as a commercial pesticide handling establishment that applies WPS-labeled pesticide products on agricultural establishments or provides crop advising services for an agricultural establishment.

Which pesticide applicators are covered by the WPS?

Most establishments covered by the WPS are crop producing such as farms, forest operations or nurseries. WPS also covers family owned agricultural operations even if only family members handle and work around pesticides. Essentially, WPS applies to any entity that grows, maintains or produces agricultural plants.

The following facilities or operations that are not generally recognized as traditional agricultural production establishments are covered by the rule if they use WPS-labeled pesticide products:

  • Nurseries, garden centers or other similar operations
  • Dairy farms if they produce hay for cattle feed.
  • Golf courses that produce sod or ornamentals for their course
  • Public parks or privately-held ornamental garden operations that produce ornamental plants
  • Theme parks, hotels, or other entertainment operations that produce ornamentals for their locations
  • Prisons that have “prison farms” where plants are produced by employed prisoners
  • University extension agricultural research facilities that conduct research on agricultural plants
  • Educational classes or vocational agriculture programs where plant production is completed by students and students receive compensation or reduced tuition
  • Pine straw harvesting/production operations.
  • Government-owned or managed agricultural operations.

The WPS also applies to any entity operating as a commercial pesticide handling establishment applying or advising the application of WPS-labeled pesticide products on agricultural commodities

What does Worker Protection Standard Require?

Inform

All employers must provide EPA approved pesticide training for workers and handlers. Employers must also provide access to specific information including: applications on the establishment, safety data sheets for pesticides applied on establishment, and display a poster with pesticide safety and emergency information.

Protect

Employers must keep workers and others out of areas where pesticides are being applied and away from equipment during applications. Handlers must stop application if workers or others are near equipment during applications. Workers must stay out of areas that are under a restricted-entry interval (REI). All early-entry workers on the job in in pesticide-treated areas during REI must be trained in the correct usage of personal protective equipment. Any handlers using highly toxic pesticides must be monitored. Personal protective equipment must be provided and monitored by employers.

Mitigate

The Worker Protection Standard course will train handlers and workers on supply decontamination and emergency assistance including transportation in the case of a pesticide-related accident.

More information on the requirements and how to comply can be found herehttps://goo.gl/bjfk8K 

When is Worker Protection Standard Required?

As of January 2nd, 2017 employers are required to train workers and handlers annually before pesticide application.

What has changed with Worker Protection Standards?

  • Full Training for Workers and Handlers is now required annually (Every year).
  • No grace period for training. Workers must be trained before they work in an area where pesticide has been used or an REI has been in effect in the past 30 days.
  • Handlers are no longer able to be the qualified person available during the training.
  • Expanded training content requirements.
  • Establishments must keep records of training for 2 years and provide records to Workers and Handlers if requested.
  • Handlers and early entry workers must be at least 18 years old.

Which Pesticides are included under Worker Protection Standards?

A pesticide product is covered by the WPS if the following statement is in the Directions for Use section on the product labeling:

AGRICULTURAL USE REQUIREMENTS

Use this product only in accordance with its labeling and with the Worker Protection Standard, 40 CFR 170.

How can I contact the EPA with Worker Protection Standard questions?

More information may be found at the EPA Agricultural Worker Protection Standard website, or you may reach the EPA at one of the regional offices listed below.

EPA Region 1 (New England) - 888-372-7341 in the New England States, or 617-918-1111
EPA Region 2 - 887-251-4575
EPA Region 3 (Mid-Atlantic) - 800-428-2474 in Region 3, or 215-814-5122
EPA Region 4 (Southeast) - 800-241-1754 in Region 4, or 404-562-9900
EPA Region 5 - 800-621-8431 in Region 5, or 312-353-2000
EPA Region 6 (South Central) - 800-887-6063
EPA Region 7 (Midwest) - 800-223-0425 in Region 7, or 913-551-7003
EPA Region 8 (Mountains and Plains) - 800-227-8917 in Region 8, or 303-312-6312
EPA Region 9 (Pacific Southwest) - 866-372-9378 in Region 9, or 415-947-8000
EPA Region 10 (Pacific Northwest) - 800-424-4372 in Region 10, or 206-553-1200

Not sure what region you're in? Click here.

Who is required to provide WPS training?

Employers at agricultural establishments and commercial pesticide handling establishments such as farms, forests, nurseries, and greenhouses.

When is Worker Protection Standard Required?

As of January 2nd, 2017 employers are required to train workers and handlers annually before pesticide application.

Does the Worker Protection Standard requirement apply to organic farming?

Yes! Worker Protection Standards apply to pesticides if the following statement is in the Directions for Use section on the product labeling:

AGRICULTURAL USE REQUIREMENTS

Use this product only in accordance with its labeling and with the Worker Protection Standard, 40 CFR 170.

Core Exam Prep FAQs

What do I have to know to pass the Core Applicator Exam?

  • Up-to-date pest management information and your responsibilities as an applicator
  • Six general pest management methods and their application
  • "Integrated Pest Management (IPM)" solutions defined
  • Simplified federal pesticide laws and regulations that you will understand
  • "Restricted use" vs. "general use" pesticides
  • Learn to build an organized record keeping system
  • Pesticide label explanations for proper identification and use
  • Understand pesticide formulation and its effects
  • Common abbreviations for pesticide formulations (e.g. WP or RUP)
  • Typical symptoms of pesticide exposure in humans and harmful effects
  • Hazard level classification including corresponding signal words
  • Complete guide to Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
  • Clear understanding of environmental effects of pesticides
  • Proper transportation, storage and security of pesticides
  • Emergency response and how to react
  • Choosing the proper pesticide and correct application procedures
  • Practice exam to test your knowledge

Who should take this online video course?

Anyone who is preparing to become a commercial or private pesticide applicator and plans on taking the National Pesticide Applicator Certification Core Exam. This course will give you everything you need to know to pass the exam on your first try. It is also an awesome tool for pesticide applicators who would like to refresh their knowledge or need to complete CEUs*.

*Please check with your state for current continuing education requirements.

Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) FAQs

What is a Certified Crop Adviser (CCA)?

The CCA certification was established by the American Society of Agronomy in 1992 to provide a benchmark for practicing agronomy professionals in the United States and Canada.

Who should become a Certified Crop Adviser?

Any adviser/consultant that spends the majority of their time advising growers or farm managers/operators on agronomic practices and can meet the standards of the program. Being certified adds credibility and shows that you are serious about what you do.

How do I become a Certified Crop Adviser?

  1. Pass two exams (International and Local Board)
  2. Meet the experience requirements
  3. Apply for the CCA Credential

What are the minimum experience requirements for becoming a Certified Crop Adviser?

  • Have at least two years of experience with at least a Bachelor of Science Degree in an agronomy related field
    (Please keep in mind that University degrees and transcripts must be in English and based on the United States educational standard. If you need assistance in the translation process, you may use Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc. or World Education Services)
    *The number of CCAs with at least a Bachelor of Science Degree is greater than 70%
  • Have at least three years of experience with an Associates Degree in an agronomy related field
  • Have at least four years of experience with no degree

How do I apply to become a Certified Crop Adviser?

  1. Document education and crop advising experience (Including transcripts and supporting references)
  2. Sign and agree to uphold the CCA Code of Ethics (Included in application)

Once I become a Certified Crop Adviser, how do I maintain my certification?

  1. Earn 40 hours of continuing education units every 2 years
  2. Pay an annual renewal fee

How long is my Certified Crop Adviser certification valid?

2 years: your certification will expire December 31st two years after your initial certification date.

For example: if you became a CCA on any day between January 1st, 2018-December 31st, 2018--your expiration date would be December 31st, 2020.

Are your continuing education courses approved for CCA CEU Credit by the American Society of Agronomy?

Yes, many of our courses are approved by the American Society of Agronomy Board. On the state pages, the course description will say “Approved for Certified Crop Adviser Credit”.

As a Certified Crop Adviser, am I required to take continuing education units in certain areas or topics?

Yes, the continuing education units you complete must fall within certain topic guidelines. The topic breakdown is as follows:

In each two year cycle, a CCA must complete a minimum of 5 CEUs in each of the 4 categories.

The categories are Nutrient Management, Soil and Water Management, Integrated Pest Management, and Crop Management.

At least 20 of the 40 total CEUs must be board approved.

Can I use your courses for credit for CCA continuing education requirements as well as my state licensing recertification requirements?

Yes, absolutely! Any course that is approved for Certified Crop Adviser Credit can also be used for state pesticide applicator continuing education credits.