How do I get my Idaho pesticide applicator's license?

Private Applicators –

  • Step 1 – Pass the closed book exam with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course.
  • Step 2 – Complete an ISDA license application
  • Step 3 – Pay the fee for the desired categories
    • $10 for the RU Category
    • $20 for the CH Category
    • $30 for RU and CH Categories

Professional Applicator License –

  • Step 1 – Pass the closed book exam with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course.
  • Step 2 – Complete ISDA Professional Applicator license application.
  • Step 3 - Provide proof of financial responsibility.
  • Step 4 - Pay the $120 licensing fee.

Dealer License –

  • Step 1 – Pass the closed book exam with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for information on our Exam Prep Course.
  • Step 2 – Complete the ISDA license application
  • Step 3 – Pay the $100 license fee for the two-year licensing period

What classifications of applicators licensing does Idaho have?

The Idaho Plant Board recognizes the following classification of applicator licensing:

  • Private Applicators – an individual who applies or supervises the application of any restricted use pesticides on agricultural commodities on property owned or rented without compensation.
    • RU Category: individuals who apply or supervise the application of restricted-use pesticides to produce agricultural commodities or forest crops on land owned by themselves or their employer
    • CH Category: individuals who apply pesticides or fertilizers through irrigation systems they own or their employer owns.
    • SF Category: individuals who apply fumigation chemicals to soils by application methods including Chemigation
  • Professional Applicators – apply or supervise the application of pesticides on land or property of another for compensation or apply pesticides/fertilizers through irrigation systems on another individual’s land for compensation or offer/supply technical advice/recommendations regarding the use of agricultural pesticides.
  • Dealer License – Individuals who sell restricted use pesticides.

What are the categories and subcategories for Idaho pesticide licensing?

The State of Idaho currently has 22 categories and subcategories for pesticide licensing. Applicators holding a commercial license will need to pass the core exam along with at least one of these specialties.

LS: Law & Safety
AH: Agricultural Herbicide
AI: Agricultural Insecticide/Fungicide
CH: Chemigation
CP: Commodity Pest Control
LP: Livestock Pest Control
PC: Potato Cellar Pest Control
RC: Rodent Control
SF: Soil Fumigation
ST: Seed Treatment
SW: Statewide Consultant
DR: Demonstration and Research
AP: Aquatic Pest Control
GP: General Pest Control
OH: Ornamental Herbicide

Does the State of Idaho offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes! Idaho offers reciprocity with Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

How do I renew my Idaho pesticide applicator license?

Idaho applicators must renew their license every two years by completing the state-required continuing education, completing a renewal application, and paying appropriate fees. License renewal applications will be mailed to you by the Idaho Department of Agriculture approximately 45 days before your expiration date.

Private Applicators

  1. Complete 6 hours continuing education
  2. Complete the renewal application provided by the ISDA
  3. Pay the appropriate fees
    • $10 RU Category
    • $20 Chemigation Category
    • $30 for both categories
  4. Photocopy the front and back of your license, showing your signature and the appropriate recertification credits.

Professional Applicators

  1. Complete 15-hours of continuing education
  2. Complete the renewal application provided by the ISDA
  3. Pay the $120 licensing fee
  4. Photocopy the front and back of your license, showing your signature and the appropriate recertification credits
  5. Provide proof of financial responsibility
    *Professional applicators who do not apply pesticides may submit an exception from responsibility form.

Do I need continuing education credits to maintain my Idaho pesticide applicators license?

Yes, Private and Professional Applicators require continuing education to renew their licensing.

  • Private Applicators – must obtain 6 hours of validated pesticide training during their licensing period.
  • Professional Applicators – must obtain 15 hours of validated pesticide training during their licensing period.

Who submits my Idaho pesticide applicator continuing education to the state?

Certified Training Institute will submit your continuing education certificates to the state.

Are your courses state-approved?

Yes! All of our courses are state approved. Approval numbers are listed after the course title.

Share