STATE REQUIREMENTS

How do I get my pesticide applicator's license?

Principal Applicators

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 – Complete a fingerprint and background check
  • Step 3 – Pass the $50 core and $35 category exams administered by the Depart of Agriculture with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for more information about our Exam Prep Course!
  • Step 4 – Pass and Law and Regulation exam
  • Step 5 - Pay the $50 license fee

Certified Applicators:

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 – Complete a fingerprint and background check
  • Step 3 – Pass the $50 core and $35 category exams administered by the Depart of Agriculture with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for more information about our Exam Prep Course!
  • Step 4 - Pay the $50 license fee

Agent:

  • Step 1 – You must be 18 years or older
  • Step 2 – Complete a fingerprint and background check
  • Step 3 – Pass the $50 core exam administered by the Depart of Agriculture annually with a score of 70% or higher. Click here for more information about our Exam Prep Course!
  • Step 4 - Pay the $350 license fee

Do I need continuing education to maintain my pesticide applicator's license?

  • Principal applicators require 6 CEUs per renewal cycle including 1 CEU of Laws and Regulations.
  • Certified Pesticide Holders require 12 CEUs per renewal cycle including 2 CEUs in Laws and Regulations and 10 CEUs in Pest Control.
  • Agents do not require CEU.

Who submits my continuing education to the state?

Certified Training Institute submits your continuing education the Nevada. You are able to print a certificate for your files immediately after completing your course

Frequently Asked Questions

Are your courses state approved?

Yes! All our courses are approved by the Nevada Department of Agriculture.

What classifications of applicators licensing does Nevada have?
  • Principal Applicators – owner, office partner, member, or technician of a pest control business who has qualified by examination in one or more categories of pest control.
  • Certified Pesticide Applicators – Must be supervised to use restricted-use pesticides
  • Agents – A person licensed to only solicit business on behalf of a pest control company.
What are the categories and subcategories for Nevada pesticide licensing?

The State of Nevada currently has 33 categories and subcategories for pesticide licensing. Applicators holding a commercial license will need to pass the core exam along with at least one of these specialties. Click here for a description of each classification.

Aerial
(A1) Insect Pests
(A2) Weeds
(A3) Desiccants and Defoliants
(A4) Fungi Pests
Agricultural Ground
(B1) Insect Pests
(B2) Weeds
(B3) Desiccants and Defoliants
(B4) Fungi Pests
(B5) Vertebrate Pests
Urban and Structural
(C1) Limited Landscape
(C2) Industrial and Institutional
(C3) Structural
(C4) Fumigation
(C5) Aquatic
(C6) Weeds
(C7) Preservation of Wood
Governmental Agency
(D1) Agricultural Plant
(D2) Rangeland and Forest
(D3) Ornamental, Turf, Nursery, Greenhouse, and Interior Landscape
(D4) Seed Treatment
(D5) Aquatic and Mosquito
(D6) Right-of-Way
(D7) General Pest Control, Industrial, and Institutional
(D8) Wood-Destroying Insects
(D9) Wildlife Control
(D10) Fumigation and Pest Control
(D10A) Commodity Fumigation
(D10B) Rodent Burrow Fumigation
(D10C) Soil Fumigation
(D11) Regulatory
(D12) Sewer Line Root Control
(D13) Public Health
(D14) Predatory Pest Control

 

Does the State of Nevada offer reciprocity with other states?

Nevada does not offer reciprocity with any other state.

How do I contact Nevada with questions?

Nevada Department of Agriculture
Jim R Barbee - Director
405 South 21st Street
Sparks, NV 89431
Phone: (775) 353-3601
Fax: (775) 353-3661

Share