State Requirements


Do I need to complete continuing education to renew my Utah applicator license?

4000, 4001, 4002, 4004  - 24 CEU

  • 2 Hours Pesticide Law
  • 6 Hours Pesticide Safety
  • 10 Hours Pesticide Use
  • 6 Hours Elective

4003 - 6 CEU 

  • 1 Hours Pesticide Law
  • 1 Hours Pesticide Safety
  • 1 Hours Pesticide Use
  • 3 Hours Elective

Frequently Asked Questions

Are your courses state approved?

Yes! All of our courses are state approved. Approval numbers are listed after the course title.

Who submits my continuing education to the state?

You will submit your continuing education certificates to the state.

How do I get my Utah pesticide applicator's license?

Commercial Pesticide Applicator License

  • Step 1 – Take the relevant course offered by Utah State University Extension Click Here
  • Step 2 – Complete the exam at a testing center. Click Here
  • Step 3 – Pay for the license. Click Here

NonCommercial Pesticide Applicator License

  • Step 1 – Take the relevant course offered by Utah State University Extension Click Here
  • Step 2 – Complete the exam at a testing center. Click Here
  • Step 3 – Pay for the license. Click Here

Private Pesticide Applicator License

  • Step 1 – Take the relevant course offered by Utah State University Extension Click Here
  • Step 2 – Complete the exam at a testing center. Click Here
  • Step 3 – Pay for the license. Click Here
What classifications of applicator's licensing does Utah have?

The Utah Department of Agriculture recognizes the following classification of applicator licensing:

  • Commercial Applicator – Individuals who use any pesticide for hire.
  • Noncommercial Applicator – Individuals working alone or as an employee of a firm, entity or government agency who uses or demonstrates the use of restricted-use pesticides and does not qualify as a commercial or private applicator.
  • Private Applicator – Individuals who use or supervise the use of restricted-use pesticides for the purpose of agriculture on property owned or rented by the individual or the individual’s employer.
What are the categories and subcategories for Utah pesticide licensing?

The State of Utah currently has 22 categories and subcategories for pesticide licensing. Applicators holding a commercial license will need to pass the core exam along with at least one of these specialties. Click here for a description of each classification.

(1) Agriculture
(1A) Plant
(1B) Animal
(2) Forest
(3) Ornamental and Turf
(4) Seed Treatment
(5) Aquatic
(5A) Surface Water
(5B) Sewer Root Control
(6) Right-Of-Way
(7)Structural and Health-Related
(8) Public Health
(9) Regulatory
(10)Demonstration, Consultation and Research
(11) Aerial Application
(12)Vertebrate
(13) Fumigation/Stored Commodities
(14) Wood-Preservation
(15) Wood-Destroying Organisms

Does the State of Utah offer reciprocity with other states?

Yes! Utah will reciprocate with any state. In order to work as a pesticide applicator in Utah an individual must complete the Utah pesticide applications, submit a $65 fee, supply a copy of their current state, DOD, or BLM pesticide license, supply a legible copy of their government-issued photo identification, and request a letter of good standing from the state, DOD, or BLM licensing department.

How do I renew my Utah applicator license?

All applicators must renew their licenses after 3 years by December 31st with a $25 fee. Individuals looking to recertify can

  • Complete the original certification process
  • Attend the annual recertification seminar
  • Participate in Continuing Education
    1. Commercial & Noncommercial require 24 CE; 2-hour Pesticide law, 6-hour Pesticide Safety, 10-hour Pesticide Use.
    2. Private requires 6 CE; 1-hour Pesticide law, 1-hour pesticide safety, 1-hour pesticide use.
Share